Physical Anthropology & Primatology Research Guide: Websites & Reference Works
Research guide for Physical Anthropology and Primatology
- BiologyInternet version of Kimball's textbook. The site provides in-depth explanations and illustrations on basic "Bio 101" topics.
- Encyclopedia of LifeEncyclopedia of living species that includes images and videos besides text.
- Endangered Species List (US)Includes links to lists searchable by region and/or taxa world wide.
- Human Origins DatabaseTo use this database you need sign up for an account. Database contains detailed information on fossil hominin specimens as well as extant hominoid specimens. Available information includes skeletal elements present for a particular specimen as well as measurements.
- International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources Red ListThe Red List of Threatened Species.
- Mammal Species of the WorldAn online version of Wilson & Reeder's reference book.
- Primate Info NetInformation on primate literature and research.
- PRIMO (PRImate Morphology Online)"The NYCEP Primate Morphology database is a resource for researchers who use metrical (including 3D) data to study aspects of primate morphology and evolution. It permits downloading of data on dentitions, crania and postcrania collected by members of the NYCEP Morphometrics Group or archived by other colleagues for public access."
- Tree of LifeA project containing information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their history, and characteristics.
- Encyclopedia of evolution / edited by Mark Pagel. This link opens in a new window"A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies. Readers will find brief treatments on discrete concepts and individuals to illuminating lengthy essays by towering figures in the field. Topics include: Darwin, natural selection, human origins, behavioral ecology, diversity, mathematical models, and cell and developmental biology. Special essays include Stephen Jay Gould's 'Macroevolution' and Jane Goodall and Elizabeth Vinson-Lonsdorf on 'Culture in Chimpanzees'"--Home page.
- Animal Diversity WebAn online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Animal Diversity Web has thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)eLS features over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences and is an essential resource for students.
- Grzimek's animal life encyclopediaOne of the most authoritative and comprehensive sources on the world's animals. Coverage includes all types of animals in geographic areas around the world. It includes high-quality photographs and illustrations and a comprehensive index to all volumes
- International Encyclopedia of Socian and Behavioral SciencesMajor reference work covering all areas of Social and Behavioral sciences.
- The Nash Collection of Primates in Art and IllustrationThe Nash Collection of Primates in Art and Illustration comprises digital images drawn from a variety of historical sources and reveals how nonhuman primates have been depicted over time. This collection includes examples of fine art, printed illustration, and sculpture, as well as other media.
- PrimateImages: Natural History CollectionThe PrimateImages database is a collection of photographs and information about nonhuman primates. These images were contributed by numerous photographers through the Lawrence Jacobsen Library at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin in an effort to preserve the visual record nonhuman primate species. This site contains photographs of most known primate species as well as related images such as habitat, maps and food sources
Ask A Librarian
