Biological & Primate Data/Sets:

• 1000 Genomes Project
• Archaeology Data Service (UK)
• DANS: Data Archiving and Neworked Service
• Ensembl
• Goldman Osteometric Data Set
• Human Microbiome Project
• modENCODE
• NESPOS - Pleistocene People & Places
• National Evolutionary Synthesis Center
• Primates - Smithsonian 3D data
• PRIMO (PRImate Morphometrics Online)
• Registry of Anthropological Data Wiki
• tDAR - the Digital Archaeological Record
• William W. Howells Craniometric Data Set

GIS/GeoSpatial Data/Sets:

• Columbia University Spatial Data Catalog: Titles held by CU that are suitable for GIS-mapping applications.
• Geographic Names Information Service (US):Searchable geographic name database that provides type of feature (town, river, park, etc.), county, longitude and latitude, USGS topographic map sheet that shows feature and a general Tiger map showing location of feature within the US.
• GeoMapApp: An earth science exploration and visualization application.
• GIS Data on the Internet: Links to various GIS data sources
• NOAA Satellite Information Service: Satellite data (NOAA) Atmosphere, Ocean, Land, Space, Hazards.
• National Geologic Map Database: Housed under U.S. Geological Survey site and wonderful overview of all material.

General/Other Data/Sets:

• Forestry Inventory and Analysis National Program (USFS): Forest Inventory & Analysis data and tools.
• ForesSTAT (UN FAO):Food and Agricultural Organization of the UN- statistics and data
• Global Change Master Directory (NASA): A comprehensive directory of descriptions of data sets of elevance to global change research. This database includes descriptions of data sets covering climate change, agriculture, the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change.
• LANDFIRE (USGS): is a program that provides over 20 national geo-spatial layers (e.g. vegetation, fuel, disturbance, etc.), databases, and ecological models that are available to the public for the US and insular areas.
• Urban Forest Data (USDA/USFS): Links to various data sets and reports for urban forest data in the United States at the state level, county level, county subdivision level and local community or place level.
• U.S. Government Open Data: Any number of dataset topics can be accessed. Geospatial, science & research, weather, climate, and ocean datasets may be of use.
• USDA: United States Department of Agriculture data products/sets

• Research Data at Columbia: Learn about data retention, data security, data storage, data ownership, public access mandates, writing a research data management plan, data management, and sharing data.
• Research and Data Integrity Program (ReaDI) at Columbia: Resources for the research lifecycle and by discipline.
• Data Management Planning: Requirements,Data Management Plan (DMP) Guidance & Templates, Writing a DMP

• Data Tools & Resources
• Academic Commons: Columbia's Open Access Institutional Repository. Deposit and share your data.

Cite data to give the data producer proper credit and to enable readers of your work to access the data, for their own use, or to replicate your results. Whether citing data, or expecting others to cite your data make sure that the following elements are provided:

• Creators
• Date: year of publication rather than collection or coverage
• Title
• Version or edition
• Publisher, data center or repository
• Identifier and/or permanent URL

Resources:

• DataCite: how to cite data.
• Data Citation Index: An index for research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation