Opinion Poll Data: U.S. Opinion Poll Data

• U.S. news and media polls
• Search tips (under the search box)
  Start by searching phrase, public opinion, and in the results screen you can then filter by topic, time period, geography and/or series name.
• Browse datasets through data related publications
• Current Columbia affiliates can register for personal accounts on ICPSR website using your Columbia UNIs (xxx@columbia.edu).

A collection of data, largely public opinion, that is part of a public data archive maintained by the University of North Carolina.

• Odum Archive
  • Harris Collection (1950's forward)
  • National Network of State Polls (coverage varies by state)
  • USA Today (1984-1993)
  • Community Indicators Survey by Knight Foundatio; also available in ICPSR 
• Georgia Polls via University of Georgia Survey Research Center Dataverse (data starting in 1980s)
• Monmouth Polling Institute Dataverse (New Jersey Polls starting in 2005)

The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press

• an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization, which provides national, international and trans-national surveys covering attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.
• See datasets on the Tools & Resources page.

A public archive of statewide polls of New Jersey residents conducted by Eagleton in conjunction with the newspaper, the Star Ledger.

• Matters of political and social interest to residents of New Jersey.
  • You may search on keywords or browse through topics and questionnaires. 

A commercial index to question-level results

• Content (1980s-forward; complete data files not available)
  Local polls (city and state), as well as well as national and international polls from a variety of survey organizations.
  • Obtaining the Data
    Tabulated results for each question are reported; no data files are available.

Gallup Analytics

• Columbia's current subscription is for aggregated level data only.
• Micro (respondent-level) datasets are not available based on current subscription.
• Access Gallup data from countries that are home to more than 98% of the world's population through a state-of-the-art Web-based portal. Gallup Analytics puts Gallup's best global intelligence in users' hands to help them better understand the strengths and challenges of the world's countries and regions. Users can access Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll data to compare residents' responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and wellbeing, infrastructure, and education.

Gallup Poll Social Series (GPSS)

• The Gallup Poll Social Series (GPSS) is a set of public opinion surveys designed to monitor U.S. adults' views on numerous social, economic, and political topics. The topics are arranged thematically across 12 surveys. Gallup administers these surveys during the same month every year and includes the survey's core trend questions in the same order each administration. Using this consistent standard allows for unprecedented analysis of changes in trend data that are not susceptible to question order bias and seasonal effects.
• Columbia currently has the February survey about world affairs, the March survey about Environment, the April survey about Economy and Finance, and the June survey about Minority Relations. Gallup also collected a similar dataset about Minority Relations in 2018. For patrons who need surveys of the other months, contact with the Research Data Services (data@library.columbia.edu) please.