Entrepreneurship: Competitors
Information about public companies
- Mergent online. This link opens in a new windowU.S. company data: An Internet-accessible subscription service covering 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings; U.S. Annual Reports: Easy-to-access current and historical annual reports on 10,000 U.S. public companies, all in PDF image format that provides faster download and allows viewing the document; International company data: More companies from more countries than any other international database, with global searching across databases; International Annual Reports: Hard-to-get, timely annual reports on all companies in our International Company Data database, available in PDF image formats; Corporate Visibility: Expanded, in-depth, and detailed descriptions of public companies as they appear in the Mergent Manuals (fka Moody's Manuals), which were first published in 1918.
Information about private and smaller competitors
Use article search databases to find news coverage and trade publication articles about private businesses or specific divisions or productcs of public companies.
- ABI/INFORM global . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search 1800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, management techniques, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the Wall Street Journal. - Business source complete . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete ... [provides] full text for ... scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for ... peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for ... top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."--Ebscohost web site. - Factiva . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.
Venture-backed competitors
- CB Insights . This link opens in a new windowCB Insights is a venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed startup companies, venture capital companies, angel investors and transactions in the United States. CB Insights produces data-driven reports and analyses related to venture capital, private equity and angel investment on a regular basis, including an in-depth quarterly venture capital report.
SWOT Analysis
A SWOT (Strength, Weakness, Opportunities, and Threats) analysis, offers insights into a business and where it stands in the market. SWOT analysis can be found in the following:
Business Source Complete, which has SWOT analysis from Datamonitor. Click on the SWOT Analysis link on the bottom right of the screen.
Mergent Online contains SWOT analysis from Global Data and Marketline. These analysis can be found via the Investext tab. In the search criteria, select company name/ticker and keyword. In the company name/ticker box, type the name of the company. In the keyword box, select "whole report" from the drop down, Type SWOT and click on submit. To see results, select the view link.