Housing Research Guide: Social Work Policy: Housing Research Resources

Introduction

Housing is a very interdisciplinary topic. This page is a productive way of beginning your research. If you need more guidance, please make an appointment with a librarian. The rest of the guide has general library resources and the following: ebooks, data & statistics, census information, government, featured books, and reference material. 

Section 8 Housing

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, on the basis of disability, or race, color, national origin, religion, sex or familial status. The Fair Housing Act also establishes certain design and construction requirements for multifamily dwellings consisting of four or more units constructed after March 13, 1991.

Housing Organizations

Recommended Databases

Find Scholarly Articles

1- ​​EBSCO has many social work resources including: 

  • SocINDEX with full text: Comprehensive coverage of sociology and its related disciplines, including ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, social psychology, and, social work.​
  • Social services abstracts: Indexes and abstracts current research in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
  • Social work abstracts: Core social work journals on topics such as homelessness, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
  • Sociological abstracts: Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
2-Real estate record and builders' guide a weekly report of building activity in New York City and its environs. This website contains fully digitized volumes, ranging from Volume 1 (published in 1868) to Volume 110 (published in 1922).
3-Avery Index to architectural periodicals: Primary emphasis on architectural design and history but coverage as well of historic preservation, city planning, urban design, real estate development and environmental studies.
4-Web of science core collection: Consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more.
 

Find Policy

1- ProQuest Congressional: Search hearings, CRS reports, House & Senate Documents, Legislative Histories, Vote Reports, Maps, and more.

2- US House of Representative and Senate Hearings

3- Working Paper for National Bureau of Economic Research 

4- Economist Country Reports: Updated each month. Once you get to the ProQuest interface, click on "The Economist" logo for a more streamlined access point. 

5- Leadership Library: Directories for congress, state-level government, news media, finance, law firms, foreign representatives, and more. 

6- New York City Government Information Research Guide

7- United Nations Research Guide

8- Congressional Budget Office (CBO) provides Congress with objective, timely, nonpartisan analysis needed for economic and budget decisions and with the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process. 

9- Government Accountability Office (GAO)  is the investigative arm of Congress. Charged with examining matters relating to the receipt and disbursement of public funds, GAO performs audits and evaluations of Government programs and activities. There are options to look at Reports and Testimony by date, topic and agency.

10- U.S. Department of Housing

For more see the Government Information portal at Columbia.