Decennial Census (Population & Housing): Historical Census Records

Columbia Census Publication Inventory

Reference Guides & Aggregated Publications

  • Dubester's U.S. Census Bibliography with SuDocs Class Numbers and Indexes.
    Cook, Kevin L.
    Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1996.
    R016.3173 C772 - Butler Reference
    Z 7553.C3 C66 1996 - Lehman Reference
    Covers the 1790-1940 censuses, with a complete list of all census publications. Particularly useful for identification of the multiplicity of items in censuses after 1870.
  • Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000.
    Washington : Dept. of Commerce, U.S. Census Bureau, 2002.
    HA 37.U55 M376 2002 - Lehman
  • Population of States and Counties of the United States: 1790 to 1990.
    Washington, DC : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1996.
    HA 214 .F67 1996g - Lehman Reference
  • Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes.
    Schulze, Suzanne.
    Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1983.
    R317.3 Sch85 - Butler Reference
  • Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1900-1940.
    Schulze, Suzanne.
    Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1985.
    R317.3 Sch853 - Butler Reference
    Z 7164 .D3 S45 1985 - Offsite
  • Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920.
    Thorndale, William.
    Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1987.
    R911 T39 - Butler Reference
    HA 217 .T5 1987g - Lehman Reference
    Provides maps for each state showing changes in county boundaries for each census.
  • Topical Index of Population Census Reports, 1900-1930.
    U.S. Bureau of the Census.
    Washington, The Bureau, 1934.
    R317.3 Un76801 - Butler Reference
  • Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes, 1950-1980.
    Schulze, Suzanne.
    Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press, 1988.
    R317.3 Sch8533 - Butler Reference
    Z 7164 .D3 S46 1988 - Offsite
  • Journey-to-work in the Tri-State Region; a Summary of Census Travel Data by Counties.
    Tri-State Transportation Committee.
    [New York] 1964.
    AA9052 T736 - Offsite
  • Urban Atlas: Tract Data for Standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas.
    United States. Bureau of the Census.
    Washington, DC : Bureau of the Census, 1974.
    G 1252.N4E25 U5 1975 - Lehman Atlas Collection
    AA735 N4 Un34 FF - Avery Reference
  • Reference Manual on Population and Housing Statistics.
    Zeisset, Paul T.
    Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1977.
    HA 37 .U55 Z44 - Butler Stacks
    C 3.6:P 81/978 - Offsite
  • Guide to 1980 U.S. Decennial Census Publications: Detailed Abstracts and Indexes Derived from the American Statistics Index. 2 vols.
    Bethesda, MD. : Congressional Information Service, 1986
    HA 37.U55 G85 1986 - Lehman Reference
  • Understanding Census Data: a Quick & Simplified Reference for Users of Census Data, Includes Definitions, Explanations, Census Questionnaire, and Helpful Hints.
    Long, C. Michael.
    Sherman Oaks, CA : Western Economic Research, c1983.
    HA 201 1980o - Lehman Reference
  • Population of the United States in the 1980s.
    New York : Russell Sage Foundation, 1986-1993.
    Call numbers and locations vary.
    A series of 16 volumes which analyze 1980 census data from a topical perspective. Search CLIO under the series title to locate individual titles and their library locations.
  • Maps and More: Your Guide to Census Bureau Geography.
    United States. Bureau of the Census.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1994.
    C 3.2:G 29/4/994 - U.S. Government Documents
  • Standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas, 1975.
    United States. Office of Management and Budget.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 1975.
    No holdings
  • Understanding the Census: a Guide for Marketers, Planners,Grant Writers, and Other Data Users.
    Lavin, Michael R.
    Kenmore, N.Y. : Epoch, 1996.
    HA 37.U55 L38 1996g - Lehman
    HA 37.U55 L38 1996g - Lehman Electronic Data Service

Web Information

History of the Census

  • The Birth of Data Processing
    Library of Congress
    The Hollerith machine was devised for use in the 1890 census.
  • The Fate of the 1890 Population Census
    An article by Kellee Blake
    Prologue: Quarterly of the National Archives and Records Administration, Spring 1996, vol. 28, no. 1
  • High Tech in the '90s - The 1890 Census
    Howells, Mark.
    An article originally published in Ancestry Magazine, about the introduction of the Hollerith system in the 1890 census.
  • Punching and Crunching...a Shower of Stats
    Another article about the development of the Hollerith tabulating machine, used in the 1890 census. From the Franklin Institute. 
  • Procedural History of the 1940 Census of Population and Housing.
    Jenkins, Robert M.
    Madison : University of Wisconsin Press, 1985.
    HA 201 1940 - Offsite
  • What the New Census Means.
    Chase, Stuart.
    New York: Public Affairs Committee, 1941.
    308 P96 no.56 - Butler
  • Myths and Realities About the 1960 Census
    Adams, Margaret.
  • Looking for the Last Percent: the Controversy Over Census Undercounts.
    Choldin, Harvey M.
    New Brunswick : Rutgers University Press, c1994.
    HA 214 .C57 1994 - Lehman
  • Moving Power and Money: the Politics of Census Taking.
    Bryant, Barbara Everitt.
    Ithaca, N.Y. : New Strategist Publications, c1995.
    HA 37 .U62 B79 1995g - Lehman

Analyses using Historical Census Data

  • A Census Analysis of American Villages (New York, Institute of Social and Religious Research 1924-1925)
    • A Census Analysis of American Villages; Being a Study of the 1920 Census Data for 177 Villages Scattered Over the United States.
      Fry, C. Luther
      317.3 In7 - Offsite
      He F - Burke (UTS) MRL Day
    • A Census Analysis of Far Western Villages.
      Fry, C. Luther
      SI40 - Burke (UTS) Union Stacks Pamphlets
    • A Census Analysis of Middle Atlantic Villages.
      Fry, C. Luther
      SI40 - Burke (UTS) Union Stacks Pamphlets
    • A Census Analysis of Middle Western Villages.
      Fry, C. Luther
      SI40 - Burke (UTS) Union Stacks Pamphlets
    • A Census Analysis of Southern Villages.
      Fry, C. Luther
      SI40 - Burke (UTS) Union Stacks Pamphlets
  • 1950 Census Monograph Series.
    The 1950 series was sponsored by the Bureau of the Census and the Copmmittee on Census Monographs of the Social Science Research Council. The books were published by John Wiley & Sons, New York.
    • American Agriculture: Its Structure and Place in the Economy
      No holdings
    • American Families
      304.2 G49 - Butler
      HQ 535 .G6 - Offsite
    • American Housing and Its Use : the Demand for Shelter Space
      HD 7293 .W73 - Offsite
      AA7545 W735 - Offsite Avery
    • The American Labor Force: its Growth and Changing Composition
      HD 5724 .B22 - Offsite
    • America's Children
      362.7 B52 - Social Work
    • The Changing Population of the United States
      HB 3505 .T3 - Barnard
      317.3 T12 - Butler
      317.3 T122 - Offsite
    • The Educational Characteristics of the American People
      No holdings
    • Farm Housing
      AA8200 B4643 - Offsite Avery
    • The Fertility of American Women
      No holdings
    • Immigrants and Their Children, 1850-1950
      HB 2595 .H8 - Butler
      325.1 H975 - Offsite
    • Income of the American People
      HC 110.I5 M61 - Offsite
    • The Older Population of the United States
      339.42 Sh43 - Offsite
    • Population Mobility Within the United States (never published)
    • Residential Finance, 1950
      HG 2051.U5 R18 - Offsite
    • Social Characteristics of Urban and Rural Communities, 1950
      338.02 D91 - Offsite
  • Counting on Everyone : the 1980 Census Promotion Program: Procedures, Results, Recommendations.
    Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1982.
    C 3.186:P-23/115 - Offsite
  • Coverage of the National Population in the 1980 Census, by Age, Sex, and Race: Preliminary Estimates by Demographic Analysis.
    Washington, D.C.: 1980 Census Promotion Office, 1984.
    C 3.2:P 94/5 - U.S. Government Documents
  • Guide to 1980 Census Data on the Elderly.
    Damon, Bonnie L.
    Washington : Bureau of the Census, 1987.
    HB 1545 .G85 1986 - Lehman
  • Who We Are : a Portrait of America Based on the Latest U.S. Census.
    Roberts, Sam.
    New York, NY : Times Books, 1995.
    HA 201 1990l - Lehman
    HA 201 1990k - Offsite
  • Strength in Numbers: Your Guide to 1990 Census Redistricting Data.
    Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1990.
    C 3.6/2:N 91 - Offsite
  • Geographic Areas Reference Manual.
    United States. Bureau of the Census.
    Washington, D.C. : Bureau of the Census, 1994.
    HA 214 .U68 1994 - Lehman
  • U.S. Census Monitoring Board: Congressional Members
    U.S. Census Monitoring Board: Presidential Members 

    The Board has released numerous studies of 1990 census data. 
  • Decennial Census: 1990 Results Show Need for Fundamental Reform.
    United States. General Accounting Office.
    Washington, D.C. : GAO, 1992.