This handbook provides a comprehensive guide to methods, terms, and concepts used by biblical interpreters. It offers students and non-specialists an accessible resource for understanding the complex vocabulary that accompanies serious biblical studies. Articles, arranged alphabetically, explain terminology associated with reading the Bible as literature, clarify the various methods Bible scholars use to study biblical texts, and illuminate how different interpretive approaches can contribute to our understanding. Article references and topical bibliographies point readers to resources for further study. This handbook, now updated and revised to be even more useful for students, was previously published as Interpreting the Bible: A Handbook of Terms and Methods. It is a suitable complement to any standard hermeneutics textbook.
This Guide for the Perplexed will demonstrate how modern biblical scholars have expressed dissatisfaction with a one-sided historical-critical approach to biblical texts and have argued that developments in secular literary theory should be applied in biblical studies. Whereas the historical-critical approach was concerned with the moment of a text's production (authorship, date, place of writing etc), the literary approach is concerned with the moment of the text's reception. Eryl W. Davies shows how and why approaches such as 'reader-response criticism', 'feminist criticism', 'ideological criticism', 'canonical criticism' and 'post-colonial criticism' are now becoming more popular in many quarters. The volume explains to the uninitiated in a readable and accessible form how strategies originally derived from secular literary criticism have been adopted by biblical scholars in order to understand the text of Scripture and to appreciate its relevance.
This two-volume set contains essays on the history of the interpretation of the various biblical books, including apocryphal/deuterocanonical books, ancient and modern individuals who have made significant contributions, and the numerous methods and movements related to biblical interpretation. Abou
Compiling the results from contemporary and exciting areas of research into one single important volume, this book stands ahead of its field in providing a comprehensive one-stop Handbook reference of biblical interpretation. Examining a wide range of articles on many of the recognized interpreters including Augustine, Luther and Calvin, up to the modern figures of Martin Hengel and T.W. Manson, Porter expertly combines the study of biblical interpretation with the examination of the theological and philosophical preconceptions that have influenced it, and surveys the history of interpretation from different perspectives. Key perspectives studied include: the historical dimension; addressing how interpretation has developed at various periods of time; from early Jewish exegesis to the historical-critical method the conceptual approach; looks at the various schools of thought that have generated biblical interpretation, and compares and contrasts competing conceptual models of interpretation the personal perspective; addresses the reality of biblical interpretation by individuals who have helped plot the course of theological development With relevant bibliographies and a guide to further reading, this Dictionary will be an extremely important reference held for many years, not only by libraries, but also by students, scholars, clergy and teachers of this fascinating and high-profile subject.
The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation (OEBI) will fill a crucial need in the field of biblical studies by providing detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to and methods for interpretation of the Bible written by expert practitioners. It willprovide a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. As with all high quality reference works, it provides a solid foundation that students and scholars can use to orientate themselves beforeventuring into original research. The Encyclopedia will contain nearly 120 entries, ranging in length from 3,000 to 5,000 words. It will be organized in an A-to-Z format. Each entry will be signed, contain a bibliography for further reading, and will be cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia. Itwill also feature a topical outline of contents and an extensive index.
Rediscover the incomparable literary richness and strength of a book that all of us live with an many of us live by. An international team of renowned scholars, assembled by two leading literary critics, offers a book-by-book guide through the Old and New Testaments as well as general essays on the Bible as a whole, providing an enticing reintroduction to a work that has shaped our language and thought for thousands of years.
Ethnically and nationally diverse scholars familiar with both non-western and Western hermeneutic traditions explore what it means to hear, heed, and appreciate biblical interpretations from the non-Western world in this illuminating collection of writings. Ten voices emanate from across the globe, from Sri Lanka to Africa, Guatemala to Canada, and Hong Kong to the United States, including: M. Daniel Carroll Rodas David A. deSilva Barbara M. Leung Lai J. Ayodeji Adewuya Grant LeMarquand Book jacket.
What does global biblical studies look like in the early decades of the twenty-first century, and what new directions may be discerned? Profound shifts have taken place over the last few decades as voices from the majority of the globe have begun and continue to reshape and relativize biblical studies. With contributors from Africa, Asia, the Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, and North America, this volume is a truly global work, offering surveys and assessments of the current situation and suggestions for the future of biblical criticism in all corners of the world.