Theatre and Dance: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture.

Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.

The fully searchable electronic version provides access to nearly 2,000 articles on all aspects of dance, including theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. Entries are also A-Z browsable.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

This online encyclopedia provides information about theater and performance from ancient Greece to current developments around the globe. Areas covered include performances in playhouses, dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performances. Searches can be done by keyword or through a browsable A-Z list.

The most complete historical record of the English language: the largest dictionary of the English language, containing 615,000 word forms with 139,900 pronunciations, 219,000 etymologies, and 2,436,600 quotations.

Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.