The Maldives: Economics/Legal/Public Policy
Cocoa Island, the Maldives
-39.jpg)
Economics & Finance--Maldives specific links
- The World Bank--MaldivesMaldives country page
Economics & Finance--Multi-regional resources
- Asian Development BankUse "countries" menu for country specific links.
- Chronic Poverty Research CentreAn international partnership of universities, research institutes and NGOs, which completed its ten-year programme in 2011. This is an archived site. For current site see Chronic Poverty Advisory Network.
- Chronic Poverty Advisory NetworkA network of researchers, policy makers and practitioners across 16 developing countries focused on tackling chronic poverty and getting to zero extreme poverty and deprivation (Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Nepal, Niger, Pakistan, Philippines, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Viet Nam). CPAN emerged from the Chronic Poverty Research Centre (CPRC).
- CUTS InternationalConsumer Unity & Trust Society, Rajasthan, India. Also see programme centres for CUTS CITEE (International Trade, Economics & Environment), CUTS CART (Consumer Action, Research & Training), CUTS CHD (Human Development), and CUTS CCIER (Competition, Investment & Economic Regulation).
- Deposits.orgA global financial platform, that showcases interest bearing products from leading banking. credit unions, p2p and financial providers from around the world. Data sources are from the financial institutions themselves and specifically from their public websites.
- Economic Freedom Network AsiaEFN Asia is a network of research institutes, influential think-tanks and individuals. It aims to promote the benefits of a civil society, market economy and individual liberty which together enhance human development and economic growth in Asia. EFN Asia provides a platform for political dialogue, public education and academic exchange in order to broaden public policy debate and inform people about the merits of a free economy and civil liberty. Our work revolves around two projects, the Economic Freedom of the World report and our yearly EFN Asia conferences.
- Economist Intelligence Unit country reports archive. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
"This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)'s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIU's analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries. Reports are reproduced in full and made available as page images with fully searchable text. In addition, figures and tables within each report are captured as separate objects and the data from each statistical table can be downloaded as a spreadsheet. Countries are indexed consistently, making it easy to find the relevant reports despite changes to the nomenclature and grouping of countries across the period. There is one record per report; a single report may cover two or more countries. The reports were produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit's country analysts drawing on a global network of contributors, with data selected and carefully scrutinized from national and international sources. They follow a consistent format for each country, although that structure has evolved over time." - EIU viewpoint This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several EIU publications including Country Reports, Country Monitor, Country Commerce, Country Finance, and EIU ViewsWire. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts. - EIU viewsWire : daily country analysis for decision makers. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Delivers timely analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. Each day, the ViewsWire supplies analytical articles on any of over 190 countries - Factiva . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. - FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Also provides extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Also includes profiles for over 500 multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.
- Global financial data . This link opens in a new windowGlobal Financial Data is a collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes: long-term historical indices on stock markets; Total Return data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates covering over 200 countries.
- Investext. This link opens in a new windowDatabase contains investment research reports on companies and industries, prepared by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide.
- Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data.
U.S. Annual Reports is available exclusively through Mergent Online. International Annual Reports module offer access to the most recent annual reports on thousands of non-U.S. public companies, as well as an extensive archive of past years' annuals in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.
- Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
- Nikkei Asia
- This link opens in a new window
Continuously updated coverage of business, markets, technology, politics, economics, and culture in East, Southeast, and South Asia - OECD iLibraryOrganisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Gateway to OECD's analysis and data, including books, papers and statistics.
- Oxford Economics global data workstation. This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of historic and forecast economic indicators across countries, industries, regions, and cities. Provides graphics and mapping for data visualisation.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. - Refinitiv workspace. This link opens in a new windowRefinitiv workspace provides access to financial data, news and content coverage in a highly customized workflow experience on your preferred device, at home or in the office. Unique workflows are currently available for students, investment bankers, and wealth advisors; additional workflows for analysts and portfolio managers, quants and developers, and traders are coming soon.
- USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC)Search a half century of U.S. international aid records. Holds USAID's institutional memory, spanning over 50 years; including documents, images, video and audio materials.
- The World Bank--CountriesIndividual country reports from the World Bank site.
- World Bank Group FinancesThe goal of this website is to make data available to everybody in a social, interactive, visually compelling, and machine readable format. The data covers portions of the Bank Group’s investments, assets it manages on behalf of global funds, and the Bank Group’s own financial statements.
Data (Maldives)
- AquastatGlobal water information system, developed by the Land and Water Division of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Use "assets by country" interface to search by country and product
- Development Data Library (DDS)USAID-funded machine readable data. Subcategories include Democracy, Human Rights and Governance; Economic Growth; Education and Social Services; Health; Humanitarian Assistance; Peace and Security; Program Development and Oversight
- ESCAP Statistical DatabaseProvides a regional perspective on development issues in Asia and the Pacific. The database, covering the 58 regional ESCAP Member States and Associate Members, contains 900 data series on a wide range of topics on population, education, health, poverty and inequalities, gender, economy, environment and connectivity. The online database is updated twice a year.
- Global Open Data IndexThe annual global benchmark for publication of open government data, run by the Open Knowledge Network
- National Bureau of Statistics, Ministry of Finance and TreasuryRepublic of Maldives. Includes census, surveys, datasets, and other publications.
- OECD iLibrary--StatisticsOrganisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
- USAID Economic Development and Data Services (EADS)A central source for U.S. foreign assistance data, international socioeconomic data, and data-driven analysis. Links to data portals: Foreign Aid Explorer, International Data & Economic Analysis, Trade Capacity Building, Microenterprise Enterprise Reporting
Multiregion Legal Databases
- HeinOnline . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hein Online contains the full text of numerous legal journals, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government. - LLMC digital . This link opens in a new windowLaw Library Microform Consortium.A non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally.
- South Asian Legal History ResourcesA website by Mitra Sharafi, legal historian at the University of Wisconsin. Mostly focused on the later colonial period of South Asian legal history, when British India was under the Raj (1858-1947).
Maps
- U.S. Department of State--Maldives
Politics/Public Policy (Maldives)
- Asian Centre for Human Rights--MaldivesMaldives page, ACHR, New Delhi
- Business & Human Rights Resource Centre--MaldivesMaldives country page
- Council on Foreign Relations--MaldivesAn independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher.
- The Presidency Republic of MaldivesThe President's office website.
- UNICEF--MaldivesCountry site for the Maldives
- United Nations Development Programme in MaldivesUNDP is the UN's global development network. Use search box and links to locate documents
Politics/Public Policy (Cross-Regional)
- Amnesty InternationalSee countrys and regions list for geographical sub-links
- The Asan ForumAn online publication for in-depth interpretation of rapid changes across the Asia-Pacific region.
- Asian Centre for Human RightsDedicated to promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the Asian region.
- Asian Human Rights CommissionThe AHRC is an independent, non-governmental body, which seeks to promote greater awareness and realisation of human rights in the Asian region, and to mobilise Asian and international public opinion to obtain relief and redress for the victims of human rights violations. AHRC promotes civil and political rights, as well as economic, social and cultural rights. Includes links to reports, news updates, country websites. Based in Hong Kong.
- Border and Migration Studies Online
- This link opens in a new window
Explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Australia-Indonesia-East Timor; Bangladesh and India border; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Burma Thailand and Cambodia; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues. - Business & Human Rights Resource Centre--Asia & PacificTracks the human rights policy and performance of over 6000 companies in over 180 countries, making information publicly available. Free weekly update e-newsletter.
- Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)--AsiaA bipartisan, nonprofit organization headquartered in Washington, D.C. Links to publications and multimedia.
- Childtrafficking.com Digital LibraryOnline library addressing child trafficking. Swiss Foundation of Terre des hommes. Includes country reports search facets for Asia, Oceania and Australia, and other regions.
- Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS)CSDS is an institute for research in the social sciences and humanities, operating since 1963. Site includes links to archived video and audio lectures.
- The Commonwealth iLibraryThe Commonwealth Secretariat’s publications are a key part of the organisation’s mission to work as a trusted partner for all Commonwealth people as a force for peace, democracy, equality and good governance; a catalyst for global consensus-building; and a source of assistance for sustainable development and poverty eradication. Each year, The Commonwealth publishes around 30 new titles on a range of topics in which it has particular insight and expertise, especially concerning small states, including globalisation and multilateral trade issues
export and enterprise development, education, gender, public service, management and reform, law and human rights. Columbia University selectively subscribes to this database, so pdf downloads will not be available for all materials. - Council on Foreign Relations--Asia and PacificAn independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher. Links to publications, among other resources
- DCAFThe Geneva Centre for the Democratic Control of Armed Forces is an international foundation whose mission is to assist the international community in pursuing good governance and reform of the security sector. See Asia region and publications links.
- Delhi Policy GroupAn independent think tank (founded in 1994) with primary focus on strategic issues of critical national interest to India. Includes links to full text publications.
- EHRAF world cultures . This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text primary source materials on ca. 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious and national groups in the following regions of the world: Asia, Europe, Africa, Middle East, North America, Oceania, Eurasia and South America. Access is via keyword, as well as through geographic (OWC) codes and a topical (OCM) classification scheme.
- FIDH--AsiaFIDH is an international human rights NGO federating 178 organizations from 120 countries. Since 1922, FIDH has been defending all civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights as set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
- Gender studies database . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Also includes relevant contributions from NISC's Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Also includes links to selected and websites."Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia."
- Global Conflict TrackerAn interactive guide to ongoing conflicts around the world of concern to the United States. The interactive covers nearly thirty conflicts with background information and resources on each conflict.
- Global Social Responses to Covid-19 Web ArchiveCreated in March 2020, at the onset of the pandemic, the Archive documents regional, social responses to the pandemic, which are critical in understanding the scope of the pandemic’s humanitarian, socioeconomic, and cultural impact.
- Human Development ReportsUnited Nations Development Programme. Includes links to country profiles, data, and publications.
- Human Rights WatchUse countries menu for country specific content.
- ICIMOD--Information ResourcesThe International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD) is a regional intergovernmental learning and knowledge sharing centre serving the eight regional member countries of the Hindu Kush Himalayas – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan – and based in Kathmandu, Nepal. ICIMOD collates, shares, and links to information on a multitude of topics relevant to mountain development, especially in the Hindu Kush Himalayan region. Links to all ICIMOD's publications online, HimalDoc, mountain geoportal, regional database system, stories, and other various information.
- IFADThe International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD), a specialized agency of the United Nations. Use search menu for country or region specific links.
- Institute of Development StudiesA global institution based at the University of Sussex, UK. Search publications by "Country & Region" for Asia specific resources.
- Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies (ICPS)Promotes alternative approaches to security issues, with emphasis on opinions of the young generation from across South Asia. ICPS was founded in 1966. Includes full text publications.
- International Crisis GroupPresents reports prepared by political analysts for the International Crisis Group (ICG), a private, multinational organization. ICG analysts use field research techniques to gather information about various international crises. Reports are distributed to foreign ministries and international organizations. One can sign up for customized briefings alerts.
- Mahbub ul Haq Human Development CentrePolicy research institute and think take in Islamabad, Pakistan. Includes links to annual Human Development in South Asia report, and other publications.
- Migration Policy Institute--Asia and the PacificMPI is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. The research here focuses in particular on how the labor-sending countries of the region, notably the Philippines and other Colombo Process countries, manage these migration flows, engage in bilateral and multilateral cooperation with migrant-receiving nations, and engage their diasporas. The recruitment process and regulation of recruitment agencies also represent a strand of the work offered here.
- National Bureau of Asian ResearchNBR conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia. The institution organizes its research around three broad topics: politics and security; trade, economics, and energy; and international health.
- National Centre of Competence in ResearchResearch Partnerships for Sustainable Development, headquartered in Switzerland. The NCCR North-South programme formally ended in June 2014 so the website is no longer being updated. Search interface includes filters for publications on South Asia and on Southeast Asia.
- New Asia ForumNetworking for an Asian economic community. Links to full text publications.
- Observer Research FoundationORF research and analysis is rooted in independent, objective inquiry, and covers the fields of foreign policy, economy and development, governance, strategy, traditional and non-traditional security, and the social sector. Geography search facets include India and The Pacific, East and Southeast Asia.
- Overseas Development InstituteODI is the UK's leading independent think tank on international development and humanitarian issues. Publications database includes country/region search facet.
- PAIS Index . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.
- Pathways of Women's EmpowermentAn international research and communications programme established in 2006 with the aim of understanding and influencing efforts to bring about positive change in women’s lives. The South Asia Hub (based at BRAC University, Bangladesh) is one of four regional centers, and offers a comparative intra-regional enquiry into countries with a common majority Muslim identity.
- Policy Commons
- This link opens in a new window
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc. Community tools allow users to upload, share, and discuss their discoveries. Use advanced search to filter by country. - Refugees, relief and resettlement : forced migration and World War IIArchives of the Central British Fund for World Jewish Relief, 1933-1960 -- Records of the Department of State relating to the problems of relief and refugees in Europe arising from World War II and its aftermath, 1938-1949 -- Refugee files from the records of the Foreign Office, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the general correspondence files of the political departments of the Foreign Office, record group 371, 1938-1950 -- Refugee records from the public and judicial department collections of the British India Office, 1939-1952 -- Refugee records from the War Cabinet, the Colonial Office, the Home Office and the War Office, 1935-1949.
- ReliefWebA specialized digital service of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA). A leading source for reliable and timely humanitarian information on global crises and disasters. Includes browse by countries search.
- SAARC: South Asian Association for Regional CooperationIncludes links to digital library.
- Sarcajc Research in Journalism Advertisement & CartoonSouth Asian Research Centre for Advertisement, Journalism & Cartoons
- South Asia Strategic ForumSASFOR is an Online Think Tank for rigorous and comprehensive studies of the internal and external challenges to the political, socio-economic and military capabilities and complexities of this region and their impact on the geo-political scenario.
- South Asian Alliance for Poverty Eradication (SAAPE)SAAPE’s main focus is poverty eradication through policy research, advocacy, lobbying and campaign works, focusing on food sovereignty, gender justice and demilitarization, democratisation and social justice issues in South Asia.
- South Asian Born-Digital NGO Reports Collection ProjectAn NYU project to identify, prioritize, archive, preserve and make discoverable and accessible to scholars curated elements of documentation from and about South Asia produced by government agencies, NGOs, think tanks, community organizations, research centers, underground groups, religious sects, political parties, women’s groups, social activists, human rights organizations, LGBTQ advocacy groups, and other content creators.
- South Asian Gender and Sexuality Web ArchiveDocuments and preserves the work of activists, grassroots organizations, and social justice movements committed to promoting the visibility and experiences of LGBTQAI+ people and women in South Asia and its diasporas.
- South Asian Governmental Publications [web archive]The South Asian Governmental Publications Web Archive aims to collect and preserve open access online formats of government serials from South Asia. From demographic data to legislative proceedings, the serials that form the focus of the Archive include publications on all subjects and from all countries of the region (Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka).
- South Asian Intelligence Review: weekly asessments & briefingsSAIR is a project of the South Asia Terrorism Portal.
- South Asia Terrorism PortalA project by the Institute for Conflict Management, an autonomous, non-governmental, non-profit society set up in 1997, based in New Delhi, India.The Institute is committed to the task of evaluating terrorist and violent movements which threaten the fabric of modern states in South Asia and recommend solutions.
- Strategic Foresight GroupA think - tank (founded in 2002) engaged in crafting new policy concepts that enable decision makers to prepare for a future in uncertain times. Works within three areas of focus: 1. Water Diplomacy 2. Peace, Conflict and Terrorism 3. Global Foresight.
- Swiss Peace--AsiaAn associated Institute of the University of Basel and member of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences. Swisspeace is a practice-oriented peace research institute. It analyses the causes of violent conflicts and develops strategies for their peaceful transformation.
- Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium : TRAC. This link opens in a new windowCreated by The Beacham Group, LLC, Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC) is a resource for the study of political violence of all kinds.
- UNESCOUnited Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization website. Resources include publications, media, statistics, and a UNESCO Web Archive site.
- UNICEF--South AsiaSouth Asia regional office site
- United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)UNDP works in nearly 170 countries and territories, helping to achieve the eradication of poverty, and the reduction of inequalities and exclusion.
- United Nations ESCAPEconomic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. The regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region. Includes subregional office links, publications, and ESCAP statistical database.
- U.S. bilateral relations fact sheetsPart of the US State Department's Bureau of Public Affairs website. Each fact sheet presents overview information on an individual country concerning their relationship to the United States.
- USAID's Development Experience Clearinghouse (DEC)Search a half century of U.S. international aid records. Holds USAID's institutional memory, spanning over 50 years; including documents, images, video and audio materials.
- Women's studies international. This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women's studies. Includes material from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies bibliography database, Women's studies database (1972-present), New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-present), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990) and the MEDLINE subset on women (1964-2000). Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.
- World Development ReportThe World Bank. Published annually since 1978, each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development—from agriculture, the role of the state, transition economies, and labor to infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty.
- World Food ProgrammeThe world's largest humanitarian agency fighting hunger worldwide.
- World Health OrganizationIncludes links to country pages, data, and publications
- Worldwide political science abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.