Journalism and Government Information Librarian
Local Opinion Polls
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (largest archive of survey research and opinion data)
- Specializes in public opinion surveys and has local, state, national and international pools
- Data on American politics includes coverage relating to presidential approval, U.S. elections (including exit polls), and congress.
- The U.S. General Social Survey which is conducted by NORC, is distributed by Rope
- iPoll - only national U.S. surveys including some not archived at Roper
surveys are identified by a search on the question wording and the tabulated answers to a question are displayed.
- ICPSR (Optimized for browsers, Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge; Does not work in Mozilla Firefox)
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- U.S. news and media polls
- Searches a bibliographic description (including abstract).
- Start by searching phrase, public opinion, and in the results screen you can then filter by topic, time period, geography and/or series name.
- UNC Dataverse (Odum Institute Data Archive)
A collection of data, largely public opinion, that is part of a public data archive maintained by the University of North Carolina.
- Harris Collection (1950's forward)
- National Network of State Polls (coverage varies by state)
- USA Today (1984-1993)
- Community Indicators Survey (Knight Foundation)
- Georgia Polls via the University of Georgia Survey Research Center (data starting in 1980s)
- Monmouth Polling Institute (New Jersey Polls starting in 2005)
- Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization.
- National, international and trans-national surveys covering attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues
- All data files are listed chronologically under the "Datasets" tab on the main page or via Pew’s Databank page which lists datasets by topical project.
- To search for surveys on at topic use the “Question Search” tab on the main page or the site search box which searches the commentaries in the report.
- Eagleton Poll Archive
A public archive of statewide polls of New Jersey residents conducted by Eagleton in conjunction with the newspaper, the Star Ledger.
- Matters of political and social interest to residents of New Jersey.
- Searches the question wording and returns questions.
- Polling the Nations (complete data files not available)
A commercial index to question-level results
- Local polls (city and state), as well as well as national and international polls from a variety of survey organizations.(1980s - present)
- Tabulated results for each question are reported; no data files are available.