Physical Anthropology & Primatology Research Guide: Find Articles - Databases

Research guide for Physical Anthropology and Primatology

Find Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). Databases contain collections of articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and may also contain newspaper/magazine articles.

These large, interdisciplinary databases are a great place to start:

  • Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
  • Web of Science: indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes Zoological Record and BIOSIS citation index among other databases. 

Additional Databases

  • All the world's primates - the comprehensive and authoritative resource for information about all the species and subspecies of living lorises, galagos, lemurs, tarsiers, monkeys, and apes. Includes photographs, interactive maps for each species and subspecies, video, audio, links, search tools, multilingual glossaries, review articles, and other resources.
  • AnthropologyPlus - combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
  • AnthroSource - current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.
  • Biological Abstracts - an index with abstracts for biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
  • EBSCOhost research databases - research platform with access to dozens of databases. It is useful for broad subject searches in both scholarly sources and the popular media.
  • Journal Citation Reports - JCR contains all the data required to understand the the value and impact of the world's most impactful journals through the delivery of a rich array of publisher-independent data, metrics and analysis. The metrics available in the Journal Citation Reports include the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and the Journal Citation Indicator (JCI).
  • ProQuest Central - research platform with access to dozens of databases. It is useful for broad subject searches in both scholarly sources and the popular media. For a more focused, scholarly work search, choose one or more of the following databases within ProQuest: Agricultural & Environmental Science database, Biological Science database, Environmental Science database.
  • PubMed - Includes more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Links to the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus.
  • BioOne - Collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.

 

Protocols

  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols - provides a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Details a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques that are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.
  • JoVE - the Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE), provides videos of laboratory methods and science concepts in the fields of biology, chemistry, statistics, environmental sciences, physics, engineering, psychology, and clinical skills.
  • SpringerNature Experiments - includes Nature Protocols, Nature Reviews Methods Primers, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols.
  • Wiley's Current Protocols - includes over 25,000 step-by-step techniques, procedures, and practical overviews that provide researchers with reliable, efficient methods to ensure reproducible results and pave the way for critical scientific discovery.
  • Last Updated: Sep 20, 2023 4:20 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/physical-anthropology
  • Print Page
Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
Phone
212-854-7309
Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu
Follow Us