Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
"A collaborative research platform that supports research effectiveness and information literacy. It gives users a simplified and smart process for locating, analyzing, and utilizing the right information. It enhances this information with embedded technology features and automates the best practices of effective research. With its adaptable, state-of-the-art architecture, Literati is a flexible, long-term solution that can accommodate changing organizational needs and evolving technical requirements"--Products and services p.
Contains full text biographical profiles of people from all centuries as well as all countries and regions worldwide. Compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century, and reproduces these original documents as facsimile images on the screen. The microfiche set compiles biographical articles from printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century.
The chapters are organised around axes of humanism, historiography and cultural production, and cover many areas including literature, science, music, religion, education, technology, artistic production and economics. The diffusion of the Renaissance throughout Italian territories is emphasised.
This book provides a comprehensive The volume provides information and analysis on such topics as regionalism, language, social and political cultures, the Church, feminism, organized crime, literature, art, the mass media, and music.
This first substantial history of Italian literature to appear in the English language for forty years provides a comprehensive survey of Italian writing from its earliest origins up to the present day. Leading scholars describe and assess the work of writers who have contributed to the Italian literary tradition, including Dante, Petrarch and Boccaccio, the Renaissance humanists, Machiavelli, Ariosto and Tasso, pioneers and practitioners of commedia dell'arte and opera, and the contemporary novelists Calvino and Eco.
Call Number: Early Modern/Modern Europe Reading Rm, 504 Butler (Non-Circ) PQ4006 .O84 2002
Publication Date: 2003
Embracing the whole of Italian literature, from the early thirteenth century to the present, The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature takes a broad view of what constitutes literature, covering historical writing, travel writing, theatre, and philosophy as well as the novel, poetry, literary dialogues, and critical theory.