German Studies: German and Central European History
Reference Works for German History
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary Germany by Call Number: DD237 .L395 2007Publication Date: 2007
Dictionary of German History, 1806-1945 by Call Number: Offsite Reference: R943 F426Publication Date: 1978
Library Databases - General
- Historical abstracts with full text . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Historische Bibliographie OnlineBibliographische Einträge von publizierten Titeln historischer Fachliteratur seit 1990: Monographien, Beiträge aus Zeitschriften und Sammelwerken.
- Jahresberichte fur deutsche Geschichte = Annual bibliography on German history. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online cumulative, searchable database containing bibliographical citations on German history. - Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers years 1543-1945, bulk is 1880-1920.
LIbrary Databases - Subject-Specific
- Economy and war in the Third Reich, 1933-1944 . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original documents from the London School of Economics and Political Science collection. - Conditions & politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Selected from the PRO Class FO 371 files in the National Archives, London.
Historical Newspapers and Journals
- ANNO - AustriaN Newspapers OnlineHistorische österreichische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften online
- Journals from the German Enlightenment (Universitatsbibliothek Bielefeld)Complete corpora of review organs and literary magazines of the German Enlightenment (in German).
Digital Collections
- World War I Pamphlets 1913-1920A collection of pamphlets from Columbia Libraries, including many from Germany and Austria
- Digital Texts and Images (WessWeb)portal to many open access digital text and image collections and to other portals
Open Access Monographs and Collections
Key Journals
German History
- Historische Zeitschrift (electronic)Publication Date: 1859-present
Austrian/Habsburg History
Open Access Document Collections
- Akten der Reichskanzlei (Bundesarchiv)Documents from the Chancery of the Weimar Republic