Chemistry Research Guide: Reference
A guide to chemistry resources at Columbia University Libraries.
Major Reference Works
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physics . This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the popular ready reference book of chemical and physical data.
- MSDS Resources (ipi.com)How to find Material Safety Data Sheets online.
- Nomenclature (IUPAC)Guidelines on nomenclature from the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
- Periodic Table (chemicool.com)A simple periodic table with links to extensive elemental information.
- Sigma-AldrichChemical provider also has extensive documentation, spectra, etc.
- ACD/I-LAB . This link opens in a new window"Predict a number of properties including physicochemical, ADME, toxicity characteristics. View predicted spectra and chemical shifts for structures containing a number of nuclear isotopes including 1H, 13C, 15N, 19F, 31P. Generate systematic nomenclature, including IUPAC and Index names, for a given structural compound, or provide a chemical name to generate a chemical structure."--Publisher's information.
- Merck index online . This link opens in a new windowFor over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The online edition offers a searchable full text database. It contains over 11,000 monographs, including historic records not available in the print edition.
- Encyclopedia of analytical chemistry / [editor-in-chief, Robert A. Meyers]The Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry covers all fields of chemical research: analytical, organic, physical, polymer, inorganic biomedical, environmental, pharmaceutical, industrial, petroleum, forensics, and food science. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field, or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a laboratory protocol and, together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. The Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also facilitates preparation of procedures, protocols, and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories.
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry / Editor-in-Chief, Robert A. Scott, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, USA. This link opens in a new window"The Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry (EIBC) is the result of a merger of two major references: The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins. This reference now contains over 10,000 pages of reference information online and regular updates of additional content are added on a quarterly basis EIBC is a key reference in the area of inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry and reviews the latest thinking and developments as well as in-depth coverage of core concepts in the field."
- Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry This link opens in a new windowSubject areas include inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc. Chemical substances ranging from raw materials and bulk products to fine and specialty chemicals are described in detail. Information on physical and chemical properties, production, applications, economic data, toxicology and occupational health is provided for each substance. Relevant patent information is supplied wherever available.