Latin American & Iberian Studies Microform Collections: General
Microform Collections
General Collections
- Latin America, 1941-1961 [microform]Call Number: MICROFLM F a3519Washington : University Publications of America, [198-?]
Description 10 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.
Accompanied by guide: print and online (PDF).
Reproductions of a wide variety of Office of Strategic Services reports written about Latin America from 1941 to 1961. The O.S.S. was the precursor to the Central Intelligence Agency. The reports cover politics, international relations, trade, agriculture, the economy, finances, etc. Reports range in length from 2 pages to several hundred. Note: This is only one part of a much larger collection of O.S.S./State Departments reports that is divided into 14 parts by major world area. Language(s): English
Arrangement: Reels 1-3) Latin America; Reel 4) Latin America, Argentina; Reel 5) Argentina; Reel 6) Bolivia, Brazil; Reel 7) Caribbean, Chile; Reel 8) Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador; Reel 9) Guatemala, British Guiana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua; Reel 10) Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Surinam, Uruguay, Venezuela. 10 microfilm reels.
- Latin America, 1946-1976 [microform]Call Number: MICROFLM F a4123Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1982.
Description 5 microfilm reels : maps ; 35 mm.
5 microfilm reels. Guide: Print and Online (PDF).
Author: United States. Central Intelligence Agency
Published: Frederick, MD. : University Publications of America, Inc., 1982
Language: English
The CIA Research Reports: Latin America, 1946-1976 provide information on political activities in Latin America, especially those that could be “troublesome” to the United States. A good amount of attention is given to Cuba, the Dominican Republic and Brazil, but a number of other Latin American countries are covered as well. The focus lies overwhelmingly with suspected communist activity in all these areas. [From The Roosevelt Study Center]
- Latin America [microform] : special studies, 1962-1980Call Number: MICROFLM F a3941Frederick, Md. : University Publications of America, c1982. Description 10 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. These reports and subsequent ones in the series were written for the U.S. government by public and private organizations. Included in the 110 studies are "The Invisible Blockade and the Covert War: U.S. Relations with Chile, 1970-1973" (1979), "The Peasantry as an Emerging Political Factor in Mexico, Bolivia and Venezuela" (1965), "Soldiers, Guerrillas and Politics in Colombia" (1971), "An Evaluation of Mexico's One-Party System and Its Relationship with a Historically Revolutionary Military" (1972).
- Latin America [microform] : special studies, 1980-1982Call Number: MICROFLM F a4682Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1983. Description 3 microfilm reels : maps ; 35 mm. Included in the 26 reports is "Role of the Armed Forces in the Mexican Economy in the 1980s" (1981).
- Latin America [microform] : special studies, 1982-1985Call Number: MICROFLM F b984Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, c1986. Description 7 microfilm reels : ill., maps ; 35 mm.+ guide. The 62 reports include "Insurgent and Terrorist Groups in Latin America" (1984), "Strategy for Dealing with Cuba in the 1980s" (1982).
North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) archive of Latin Americana
A microfilm collection of ephemeral materials collected between 1960s and 1990s by the North American Congress on Latin America, a non-governmental organization active in reporting and monitoring conditions in the region. Consult the Finding Aid [online]. Borrow microfilm reels via interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
Columbia holds:
- Dominican Republic [microform] : North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) archive of Latin AmericanaCall Number: MICROFLM F d7679Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, [1997]
Description 18 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.
Princeton University Latin American Library Microfilm Collections
For complete holdings in this collection, consult WorldCat. Search as a keyword "Princeton University Library Latin American Microfilm Collection" AND [country name or topic] as keyword.
Guide to the Princeton University Latin American microfilm collection
(Columbia University Law Library Catalog)
Columbia University Libraries holdings:
Underground Newspaper Collection
- Underground Newspaper Collection [microform]Call Number: FN 445 (Butler Microforms)The Underground Press Collection (also known as the Underground Newspaper Collection) is a microfilm set reprinting the full text of thousands of issues from hundreds of alternative/underground newspapers of the period 1963-1985. 476 microfilm reels.
- Underground Press Collection : a Guide to the Microfilm Collection : Hoover Institution supplementCall Number: R016.05 Un24 (Butler Reference)Publication Date: 1988
United States
- Communications received by the Department of State from special agents of the Department of State, 1794-1837, relating to the British West Indies, Cuba, Colombia, Haiti, Chile, Peru, Santo Domingo, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. byCall Number: MICROFILM FH 77Record not in CLIO.
- The Diplomatic papers of John Moors Cabot [microform]Call Number: MICROFLM F a777322 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. Part 1. Latin America (5 reels)
- The Diplomatic papers of John Moors Cabot : [guide]Call Number: MICROFLM F a7773 Guide
- Radio Free Europe research [microform]. Background report. World communist movement Latin America MiscellaneousCall Number: MICFICHE FX3 2580Library has: Aug. 29, 1961-Sept. 5, 1980
- Records of the Department of State [microform] : communications from special agents, 1794-1906Call Number: MICROFLM FH no. 37Washington : National Archives, 1943.
Description 24 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.