Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies: Dissertations
A selective guide to research resources available at Columbia University Libraries.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Most Columbia University Dissertations are available in full text here. If full text is not available, PQDT provides abstracts and/or citations. To see only those from Columbia, simply limit by "School Name/Code."
- CLIO: DissertationsTo find Columbia theses and dissertations that are not available in full-text online (above), search CLIO: Dissertations (this searches both the Library Catalog and Academic Commons). The catalog treats theses and dissertations like books. Search by author, title, keyword or LC subject heading. In the catalog, the term "thesis" denotes both Masters' theses and dissertations. A keyword search for "thesis" and "Columbia University" will find all theses and dissertations produced at Columbia. You may also narrow your search by including the name of the department or school.
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations. - WorldCat. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.
- Center for Research Libraries: DissertationsAll materials located in the CRL catalog are available through interlibrary loan (ILL) for Columbia affiliates.
- Dissertations & theses. UK & Ireland . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic listing of dissertations and theses, most with abstracts, accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Date range: 1716 to current. May be searched or browsed by subject or by location.
- Dialnet . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly articles appearing in Spanish and Latin American journals. Provides tables of contents, lists of authors publishing in specific journals, and selected abstracts and full-text articles. Humanities, social sciences and sciences are covered. This project also offers full text of doctoral dissertations from Spanish universities.
- Borrow Direct. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If the print dissertation you need is not available at Columbia but is in the collection of a Borrow Direct member library, request it.
- Interlibrary LoanRequest print dissertations not at Columbia and monitor your requests online. Click on the "Request It" link anywhere on the Columbia University Libraries' website to navigate to the ILL request form. Or use the E-Link feature from databases or catalogs (such as WorldCat) to link to an auto-filled ILL form.
- Center for Research Libraries: Demand Purchase ProgramColumbia Libraries is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), a repository of specialized research materials. CRL holds many foreign dissertations and will attempt to purchase non-U.S. dissertations upon request.