Latin American, Caribbean, and Iberian Studies: Digital Collections
A selective guide to research resources available at Columbia University Libraries.
Digitalia
- Digitalia hispanica. This link opens in a new windowWith an interface in English, French and Spanish, Digitalia contains thousands of ebooks from the most renowned Spanish and Latin American publishing houses, as well as relevant journals that cover all topics of interest.
Digital Collections
- Digital National Security Archive . This link opens in a new windowContains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 63,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
- Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
- Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
- Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
- The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
- The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War
- Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Operations, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
- El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
- El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
- The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
- Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
- Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
- Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
- Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Eighteenth century collections online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- European views of the Americas, 1493-1750 . This link opens in a new window
- Feminism in Cuba : nineteenth through twentieth century archival documents. This link opens in a new window
- Foreign relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 . This link opens in a new window
- Making of the modern world . This link opens in a new window
- Classic Mexican cinema online This link opens in a new window
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 . This link opens in a new window
- Slavery & anti-slavery : a transnational archive. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Digitalia hispanica. This link opens in a new windowWith an interface in English, French and Spanish, Digitalia contains thousands of ebooks from the most renowned Spanish and Latin American publishing houses, as well as relevant journals that cover all topics of interest.
Brazilian eBook Collections
- Brasiliana Eletrônica (Coleção Brasiliana)Editada originalmente pela Companhia Editora Nacional no período de 1931 a 1993, a Coleção Brasiliana reúne 415 volumes de autores brasileiros e estrangeiros que retrataram o país nos campos da História, Sociologia, Antropologia e História Natural, entre muitos outros. Part of the Series "Biblioteca pedagógica brasileira."
- Red de revistas cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal : Red ALyC. This link opens in a new windowRedalyc is an open access journal project that provides full-text access to over 500 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Subjects covered include humanities and social sciences along with physical and natural sciences.
- Scientific electronic library online : SciELO. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An electronic virtual library of scholarly journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal. Search or browse by country of publication or subject area. Strong in coverage of science, medicine, and public health along with social sciences and humanities journals."SciELO, the Scientific Electronic Library Online, uses a methodology developed by BIREME/PAHO/WHO that enables the implementation of web digital libraries of scientific journal collections of full text articles. Various SciELO gateways are now in operation, providing access to academic journals from Brazil and other countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. SciELO plays a very important role in the worldwide dissemination of the technical and scientific literature published in developing countries, thereby increasing visibility of this literature that otherwise would be accessible only within the borders of those developing countries." --"The SciELO Brazilian Scientific Journal Gateway and Open Archives," D-Lib Magazine, Vol. 9, no. 3, March 2003.