Japanese Studies CourseWorks Guide : Literary Studies: Find Articles
General guide for locating resources for Japanese Studies.
Getting Journal Articles
To obtain a copy of a journal article after you have found the bibliographic information from a journal index such as Zashi Kiji Sakuin (in print or database format) and/or from “References” or “Bibliography” in a book or another article, etc. If the article is published in an academic publication such as kiyō (紀要), you may check the article in JAIRO whether or not its full text is available. Otherwise, try the following steps:
- Go to CLIO (Columbia Library Information Online) to see if the journal and the issue in which the article was published is available in one of the Columbia libraries.
- If the journal and the issue is available, get the journal/issue; if the journal issue is located offsite, you may request a copy of the article, by clicking the “offsite” button and filling in the "Electronic" form.
- If the journal is not held by Columbia, go to the ILL (interlibrary loan) page to request a copy of the journal article.
Note: Columbia is a member of GIF (Global ILL Framework), which allows us to request a copy of a journal article from GIF member libraries in Japan.
Indexes for Journal Articles
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu : Meiji kara genzai made sogo zasshi kara chishi made = The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan. - Citation information by NII : CiNii. This link opens in a new windowCitation Information by NII (CiNii) is a component part of GeNii (Global environment for networked intellectual information). CiNii enables the user to to search both academic journals published by academic societies and research bulletins published by universities, etc., and then to follow up on references to discover what sort of documents are referenced by the document found, and what sort of documents are referencing the document found, and also enables access to the full text of documents.
- Web OYA-bunko . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WebOya indexes periodicals held by the Ōya Sōichi bunko, a private library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of popular journals reflecting popular culture in Japan. Provides basic and advanced Boolean searching, as well as classified searches by personal names, occupation, subject, and keyword. Indexes 400 titles including 110,000 personal name and 7,000 subject headings. Coverage: 1988- present.
- Kokubungaku Ronbun Mokuroku Database （国文学論文目録データベース）Periodical article index to Kokubungaku Nenkan. Provides citations to journal articles and books with subjects related to Japanese literature
Journals and Journal Articles in Web-based databases:
- Fūzoku gahō (風俗画報）via Japan Knowledge Lib database.
- Aera (アエラ)via Kikuzo II bijuaru (Asahi Shinbun)
- アサヒグラフ 1923-1956via Kikuzo II bijuaru (Asahi Shinbun)
- Nihon no ronten (日本の論点）via Japan Knowledge Lib
- Shūkan Asahi (週刊朝日）via Kikuzo II bijuaru (Asahi Shinbun)
- Shūkan Daiyamondo (週刊ダイヤモンド)via Nikkei Telecom 21
- Shūkan ekonomisuto (週刊エコノミスト)via Japan Knowledge Lib or Nikkei Telecom 21
- Shūkan Tōyō Keizai (週刊東洋経済）via Nikkei Telecom 21
Institutional Repositories
- JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)JAIRO is the cross-sectionally search service for academic information (journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.) which has been accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories.
CD/DVD format reprint journals and Indexes Available on Japanese CD/DVD-ROM workstation in the Reading Room.
- "Jinmin Bungaku" Zengō hyōshi gazō, sōmokuji, sakuin (「人民文学」全号表紙画像、宗目次・索引)
- “Joshi Bundan” shippitsushamei, kijimei dētabēse = 『女子文壇』執筆者名・記事名データベース
- “Kashima bijutsu kenkyū” sōsakuin =「鹿島美術研究」総索引
- Seisen Kindai Bungei Zasssishū Sōmokuji (精選近代文芸雑誌集総目次)
- "Shinbun to Shaki" kanbetsu kiji (「新聞と社会」 巻別記事)
- Bungei Kurabu (文藝倶楽部)
- Fujin Gaho (婦人画報)
- Gunzō (群像)
- Kokka (国華)
- Taiyō [Hakubunkan] (太陽 [博文館])