Research Guides: Research in Jewish Studies: Women

Note

This page is currently under construction. For specific research requests, please contact the Librarian for Jewish Studies (jewishstudies@library.columbia.edu or 212-854-8046).

This guide focuses specifically on research for women in Judaism. For general research on women, please see the Women, Gender, and Sexuality research guide.

Jewish Women

Bella Abzug pin

Black and white image of a women with a neutral face and glasses, wearing a hat.

Emma Goldman

Drawing of a woman at the entrance to a red and white striped tent. The roof of the tent is gold and blue.

Sarah in the tent

Drawing of a woman holding a plant and a basket and wearing a blue and red dress.

Woman in Sefer Evronot

Online Resources

Jewish Women's Archive Encyclopedia
The Jewish Women's Archive has an extensive encyclopedia of important Jewish women around the world.
Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Archival Resources on the History of Jewish Women in America
By Phyllis Holman Weisbard

This bibliography concentrates on books, chapters in anthologies, and periodical articles on the collective history of American Jewish women and archival resources on individuals and women's organizations.
Jewish Women and Music
Edited by Judith Pinnolis
A website dedicated to Jewish women's contributions in music.
Jewish Women's Wills : A Collaborative Premodern Collection
Jewish Women's Wills (JWW) aims to collect all extant wills and will-like dispositive documents written by and for premodern Jewish women during the premodern period. Here, premodern is defined as through 1600 CE.

Journals and Print Resources

Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues
This journal provides an international, interdisciplinary academic forum...for the innovative work being done in Jewish women’s and gender studies.
Women in Judaism: A Multidisciplinary Journal
An academic, refereed journal published exclusively online, and devoted to scholarly debate on gender-related issues in Judaism.