Comparative Literature and Society: Home
Librarian
Subject Specialists
There are librarians for just about every discipline here at Columbia. Feel free to reach out with any research need!
Comparative Literature and Society: Best Bets
- MLA international bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- International bibliography of periodical literature : IBZ. This link opens in a new windowUniversal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 1.7 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the the periodicals published on the European continent.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowThis online version of the Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS) contains more than 850,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since.
- Historical abstracts with full text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
- JSTOR. This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Research Reading Rooms
Located on the 5th and 6th floors of Butler Library, the Research Reading Rooms offer quiet study space along with non-circulating collections of relevant primary and secondary sources for particular disciplines. Of particular note is the Comparative Literature & Society reading room (room 615).
African Studies (Room 607)
American History & Literature (Room 502)
Ancient & Medieval Studies (Room 603)
**Comparative Literature & Society (Room 615)**
Early Modern/Modern Europe (Room 504)
Edward Said (Room 616)
Islamic Studies (Room 602)
Latin American Studies (Room 503)
Moral & Political Theory (Room 504)
Papyrology & Epigraphy (Room 604)
South Asian Studies (Room 601)