Marriage and Morals among the Victorians (History UN3334, Fall 2023): Finding Articles
START OUT WITH
Resources marked with this symbol 
are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
The single most comprehensive resource for the study of British, Irish, and British Imperial History is:
-
Bibliography of British and Irish history (BBIH)
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History.
Depending on the nature of your research, and the range of countries involved, there are two other core databases that you may want to search in addition to BBIH:
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present . Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, books, and dissertations. Covers more than 2,000 journals published throughout the world.
and/or
- America: History and Life
Covers writings about the history and culture of United States and Canada from prehistory through the recent past. Provides listings for journal articles, book articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations, along with brief summaries of journal and book articles. Also provides links to full text for selected journal articles.
MULTI-DATABASE SEARCHING
- EBSCOhost Research Databases ⇔SEARCHES ACROSS MANY DATABASES AT ONCE⇔
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a wide range of subject areas. Includes major access points for current and recent journal articles such as: Humanities Full Text; General Science Full Text; and Social Sciences Full Text. Also includes a number of more specialized resources such as Africa-Wide Information; Alternative Press Index; and Gender Studies Database. A substantial range of ebooks is also searchable here, as well as a series of historical magazines archives that provides cover-to-cover, full image access for major American magazines such as Business Week, Life, Time, and Sports Illustrated.
- Gale Newsvault ⇔ SEARCHES ACROSS MANY DATABASES AT ONCE ⇔ (Gale)
Includes full text access for the following key British publications from their first issue up until recent years: The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015; Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010; Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004; The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2013; The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014; and The Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006. (For current coverage of some of these titles, use Factiva.) Also includes deep historical collections such as: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers; and 19th Century UK Periodicals.
- ProQuest ⇔SEARCHES ACROSS MANY DATABASES AT ONCE⇔
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a wide range of subject areas, such as: news and world affairs; humanities; education; social sciences; literature; women's studies; business and economics; health and medical; science and technology; psychology; and law. Most of the content covered here is accessible in full text. Along with academic journals, ProQuest provides access to a wide range of newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. The span of articles covered stretches back as far as the 17th century and up to the present day.
SELECTED NOTEWORTHY DATABASES
- Book Review Digest Plus
Book Review Digest Plus brings together the data of Book Review Digest, which includes descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews, with all the book review citations and full text of book reviews from eleven other H. W. Wilson indexes.
- British Humanities Index: BHI
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, BHI indexes over 320 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. Topics include architecture, archaeology, art, antiques, education, economics, foreign affairs, environment, cinema, current affairs, gender studies, history, language, law, linguistics, literature, music, painting, philosophy, poetry, political science, religion, and theatre.
- Factiva.
Provides current full text coverage of a wide range of news publications from Britain, Ireland, and many regions of the world. Includes Times Literary Supplement.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and areas of general popular interest. Each periodical is covered back to its first issue, regardless of when it began publication. International in scope, Periodicals Archive Online covers periodicals in a number of Western languages.
- Victorian Database Online
Searches over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to the present on every field of nineteenth-century British studies.