Marriage and Morals among the Victorians (History UN3334, Fall 2023): Biography
Biography
Resources marked with this symbol 
are restricted to Columbia affiliates.
Start out with
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
"The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors." Updated three times per year.
- Dictionary of Irish biography (Cambridge University Press)
"The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport." Updated twice per year.
Other Significant Resources
- AncestryLibrary.com
Provides access to a wide variety of records facilitating genealogical and local history research. Includes Census records; birth, marriage, and death records; immigration and travel records, etc. Especially strong in its coverage of records from the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom.
- Biography in Context
Provides biographical entries on more than 528,000 individuals — from throughout history and around the world. Various kinds of biographical sources are included: entries from reference books, articles from periodicals, and audio or video files.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13.6 million.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, for more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works. Additionally, you can search for essays on publishing houses and literary topics. Illustrations included.
- World Biographical Information System (WBIS) Online
WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing short biographical information on over 6 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. For many of the modules, including, British biographical Archive, records include a "View Digitized Article(s) from Archive" link that allows you to access digitized facsimile articles from biographical reference works.