Disability Studies: Policy

 

Policy research is complex and often encompasses many types of information and potential sources. The following image, developed by Kimberly Pendell at Portland State University, illustrates the many areas and contexts where policy information is used and created:

Image description: a graphic representation of the circular nature of policy. The middle of the graphic reads “Social Policy Issue.” Six boxes are in a circle around the outside of the graphic. They are Media and Public Opinion, which includes news and public debate; Law, which includes bills and amendments, hearings and debates, and final text; Government Agencies, which include reports, statistics, and outcomes; Data & Statistics, which include quantitative measures of social policy; Research Articles, which includes research on implemented policy; and Policy and Advocacy Groups, which include reports, research, Pro/Con, and Social Action.

Policy Research

Media and Public Opinion

ProQuest

 

Law & Government

Nexis Uni

 

Congressional Research Service Reports

See the Columbia U.S. Government Documents Library Guide

 

Data and Statistics

Statista

 

Data Planet

 

For support in finding and using datasets, see Research Data Services.

 

 

Research Articles

EBSCOhost (Be sure to select "all databases" if you want to include Social Work Abstracts and CINAHL, which is a nursing database.)

 

 

Policy and Advocacy Groups

Policy Commons: World's largest database for public policy reports, briefs, and working papers

 

PAIS Index: Articles, books, and reports on public/social policies and international relations

 

Find relevant think tanks using the Open Think Tank Directory (but be sure to critically evaluate think tank sources!)

Government Research Help

Try GovInfo.gov for general information

 

For individual Federal agencies, go directly to the agency website by web searching for the name of the agency.

 

For state and municipal agencies, find government websites by searching for the name of the state or municipality and the type of agency.

 

Need help finding government information? Email usgd@library.columbia.edu with your question.

  • Last Updated: Nov 27, 2023 11:34 AM
  • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/disabilitystudies
  • Print Page
Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
Phone
212-854-7309
Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu
Follow Us