Hacking for Humanity / Social Ventures Incubator: Searching the Libraries
Finding and Using Library Materials
- CLIO, Columbia University's Online Library CatalogUse CLIO to search Columbia Libraries' collection for books, academic journals, databases, government documents, and more. If you are looking for journal articles, use one of the databases in the Where to Search for Articles box on this page.
- Borrow, Request, RenewOur collections span over 13 million items and 450 languages, plus a boundless multitude of resources from partner institutions, shared collections, and more. If we don’t have what you’re looking for, we can help you find it. Use this link to find more information about borrowing, requesting, and renewing materials.
- Talk to a LibrarianUse this link to view different ways to get in contact with a librarian, including our Instant Message chat service, a list of librarians by subject specialty, and a consultation request form. You can also email the Entrepreneurship Librarian, Nickeisha, at business@library.columbia.edu.
News & Trade Publications
Up-to-date, industry-specific publications for a business audience. When using ABI/Inform Global, be sure to narrow search results to "trade journals" to focus on this kind of article.
- ABI/INFORM global . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search 1800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, management techniques, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the Wall Street Journal. - Factiva . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. - Business source complete . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete ... [provides] full text for ... scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for ... peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for ... top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."--Ebscohost web site. - ImpactAlpha. This link opens in a new windowImpactAlpha is a comprehensive source for news on impact investing from broad issues to specific impact investments.
Where to Search for Articles
- EBSCOhost research databases. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various databases indexing journals and other scholarly publications, some with full text. - JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis. - Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. - ProQuest . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc). - Scopus . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
Search Tips
Boolean Operators
Use Boolean operators AND, NOT, and OR to make your search more narrow (AND), more broad (OR), or to exclude a particular word or phrase (NOT).
Advanced Search Tips
- Use “quotation marks” for exact phrases (“South Park”)
- Use * to find plurals and variants (*celeration will find acceleration and deceleration; child* will find children, childhood).
- Citation chasing – use the bibliographies of useful articles to locate other articles and authors to search
- Cited by – most databases will now give you information on articles that cite the article you are looking at. This is very useful not only in finding other relevant research, but also to determine how influential that work has been in the field.