Foundations of Innovation: Secondary Market Research
General Market Research Resources
What are secondary market research reports?
Secondary market research reports are reports written by analysts for a business practitioner audience (as opposed to an academic audience). The purpose of secondary market research is to.give business people a sense of trends in markets, industries, and consumer behavior.
Generally the reports in this guide focus on consumer goods. They also tend to focus on broad market categories rather than niche markets or products.
- EMarketer . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 2,800 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. - Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. - Mintel academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers yearly reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets in the CPG/FMCG, financial services, media, retail, leisure and industrial space. Market data including size, segmentation and forecasts. Includes daily updates on the hottest issues affecting key consumer markets and the economy. - RKMA market research handbooks / Richard K. Miller & Associates. This link opens in a new windowDownloadable market research handbooks covering the following market sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering, Consumer Behavior, Entertainment, Media & Advertising, Healthcare Business, International Consumers, Leisure, Restaurant, Food & Beverage, Retail Business, Sports, Travel & Tourism. Each report breaks down into industry segments and covers market assessment, trends, demographics and more.
- FitchConnect This link opens in a new windowProvides in-depth market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Also provides extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Also includes profiles for over 500 multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. - Statista . This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
Secondary Market Research for Technology Markets
- Forrester : information & knowledge management Forrester research. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Forrester's research publications analyze a broad range of technology areas such as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications and the Internet, and project how technology trends will affect businesses, consumers, and society. Forrester reports include up-to-date industry statistics, as well as illustrative graphs and charts. - Faulkner's advisory for IT studies . This link opens in a new windowVirtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and World Wide Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as Nando Net, The New York Times, Financial Times, NewsBytes, and the BBC.
- IDC . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IT, telecommunications, and consumer technology market research and analyst reports.