Free E-resources for Chinese Studies: Home

Free Chinese Databases

Free E-resources for Chinese Studies During the COVID-19 Pandemic

The Starr East Asian Library page of Free E-resources for Chinese Studies covers over 140 databases, almost all important Chinese databases and not yet on Columbia’s subscription.  

Without the need of using VPN, the 15 old newspapers and other databases are better accessible on the available platform Quan guo bao kan suo yin 全国报刊索引 China National Index of Newspapers and Magazines.

So are the 34 Unihan archival databases or big-set reprints in the Unihan platform of our acquired databases such as Ming Qing bian hai fang 明清边海防 Border and Sea Defense of Ming and Qing Dynasties. IMPORTANT: In case the opened link only displays 明清边海防 database, then please click on top row 新版古籍库, which lists and links to all the accessible Unihan databases. 

Please note:
  • The free Chinese databases are Columbia IP-range accessible, through June 2020, then extended to September 30, 2020
  • The free databases do not overlap with, but supplement available collections of Chinese E-Resources

The free databases is based on the project Free E-resources for Chinese Studies During the COVID-19 Pandemic, which is made possible with the generous support from almost all providers of Chinese databases and through the collaborative efforts between the CEAL Committee on Chinese Materials, which the librarian serves as chair, and SCSL Committee for Information Exchange.

Chinese Studies

Chengzhi Wang's picture
Chengzhi Wang
Contact:
C.V. Starr East Asian Library
212 854 3721
Website