Psychology Research Guide: Find Articles - Databases

Research Guide for Psychology

Find Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). Databases contain collections of articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and may also contain newspaper/magazine articles.

These large, interdisciplinary databases are a great place to start:

  • Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
  • ProQuest: This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. For a more focused, scholarly work search, choose one or more of the following databases within ProQuest: PTSDpubs, Health & Medical collection.
  • PubMed - Includes more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Links to the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus.
  • Web of Science: indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Psychology Databases

  • APA PsycNET - the American Psychological Association's platform that includes the following databases: PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS & PsycTESTS.
  • Health and psychosocial instruments - Provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
  • Mental measurements yearbook - Includes full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments, plus all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews). Allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing.
  • PEP Web - Provides access to the PEP Web archive, which contains both books and journal articles. The book archive includes the full text of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Freud's letters to his major collaborators and major works by other major psychoanalytic authors.
  • PsycINFO (on the EBSCO platform) - Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles and English language books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.

Education Databases

  • Education Full text (Wilson) - Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks.
  • Education Research Complete (EBSCO) - Provides the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals as well as areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
  • ERIC - The Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to education literature and research including journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
  • Last Updated: Sep 20, 2023 4:24 PM
  • URL: https://guides.library.columbia.edu/Psychology
  • Print Page
Columbia University Libraries
535 West 114th St. New York, NY 10027
Phone
212-854-7309
Contact Us
lio@columbia.edu
Follow Us