Health Data Resources: Home

• World Health Organization - Global Health Observatory
• Demographic and Health Surveys
  Micro-data gathered in developing countries.
• UNData
  For developing countries: health services, coverage, outcome, mortality, and risk factors.
• OECD Health Data
  • Data for EU, OECD and G8 (except Russian Federation) countries
  • Health status, resources, utilization, expenditure, and financing
  • Social expenditures relating to health, pharmaceutical market, and non-medical determinants of health
• Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP)
  The World Bank's comprehensive database of Health, Nutrition and Population (HNP).
• Global Health Security Index a comprehensive assessment of global health security capabilities in 195 countries

New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

• Their Data and Statistics Surveys page lists all their products. 

• Conducts the New York City Community Health Survey, an annual survey to access health status since 2002. This site includes links to public use files and methodological materials.  

• For an interactive web-based interface to explore and download health information, use the EpiQuery Interactive Heath Data portal.  In addition to the NYC Community Health Survey data, EpiQuery provides access a a variety of other health survey,  surveillance modules, and vital statistics including:
  • Mortality data since 2000
  • Birth data since 2000
  • Infant Mortality data since 2000
  • Vaccine-Preventable Disease Surveillance Data
  • Tuberculosis Surveillance Data
  • Syndromic Surveillance Data
  • Sexually Transmitted Diseases
  • HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data
  • Communicable Disease Surveillance Data
  • World Trade Center Health Registry
  • New York City Youth Risk Behavior Survey
  • Child Community Health Survey
  • Heath and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
• For GIS users. The NYC Department of Heath and Mental Hygiene often use United Hospital Fund (UHF) Areas as neighborhood designations.  This is a neighborhood level geography built from approximated zip code areas. There are currently 42 UHF areas in New York City.  For UHF boundary files, search the GeoData@Columbia spatial data catalog.  

Infoshare is a database of survey results and statistics for New York City at a variety of geographies.  Available variables include data from the NYC Dept. of Heath and Mental Hygiene (Mortality and Birth statistics) and the New York State Department of Health (hospital admissions and physician counts). ​

• Columbia Information Commons has a list of  COVID-19 Datasets
• 2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 (2019-nCoV) Data Repository by Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering.  Available on Github.  This data no longer updated as of 3/10/2023.
• The World Health Organization has a COVID-19 Pandemic resource page.
• The New York Times has made their own US county totals available on Github. This data no longer updated as of 3/23/2023.
• Bing COVID-19 data GitHub repo from Microsoft  includes confirmed, fatal, and recovered cases from all regions.  This data is retired as of 3/5/2023.
• The EU European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control has country level cases and deaths.
• USAFacts is collecting up-to-the-minute metrics from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), various local and state departments, and academic institutions like John Hopkins University for a holistic picture of the COVID-19 outbreak. This data is no longer updated as of 2023.
• The National Center for Biotechnology Information COVID-19 Data Hub 
• COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19) - of scholarly literature about COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, and the Coronavirus group.  Requested by The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, the dataset represents the most extensive machine-readable Coronavirus literature collection available for data and text mining to date, with over 29,000 articles, more than 13,000 of which have full text.  
  • Also available for search from Tools for Innovation Research
  • Google has made a “dataset of metadata” containing paper--dataset pairs of datasets mentioned or referenced in papers comprising the CORD-19 dataset and a COVID-19 Research Explorer
  • Verizon provides another COVID-19 Search Engine
• Elsevier has made available 20,000 COVID-19 related journal articles.  These articles are also available to download with rights for full text and data mining, re-use and analysis for as long as needed. No longer updated as of July 2023.
• LitCovid is a curated literature hub, data available is formats appropriate for test and data mining. 
• The COVID Tracking Project collects information from 50 US states, the District of Columbia, and 5 other U.S. territories to provide comprehensive testing data for the SARS-CoV-2. It includes positive and negative results, pending tests, and total people tested for each state or district currently reporting that data. No longer updated as of March 2021.
• The Yu group at UC Berkeley Statistics and Electrical Engineering and Computer Science has made available a corpus of county and hospital level data sources.
• nCoV2019 dataset provides a location for summaries and analysis of data related to n-CoV 2019 and enables the production of real-time approaches that model disease outbreaks. 
• Statista has a collection of COVID-19 statistics and facts.
• GOVLAB has a list of Data Collaboratives in Response to COVID-19 
• New York City Department of health has a COVID-19 dashboard, the source data is available.
• New York State Open Data has a list of tests and infections by county for each day.  This is no longer updated as of September of 2023
• The COVID-19 tweet IDs dataset collects millions of tweets associated with the coronavirus outbreak and the COVID-19 disease.
• Bing search dataset for coronavirus intent includes queries from all over the world that had an intent related to the Coronavirus or Covid-19.
• Microsoft Academic resources and their application to COVID-19 research
• Several research studies are available through ICPSR
• The US Census Department is producing the Household Pulse Survey,  collecting data to measure household experiences during the pandemic and the Small Business Pulse Survey to measure changes in business conditions on  small businesses during the pandemic.
• This Global.health dataset contains detailed information on over ten million anonymized cases from over 100 countries.
• The COVID Tracking Project at The Atlantic has daily testing and outcomes data by state for March 7, 2020 to March 7, 2021.
• The School of Biomedical Informatics at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and the Department of Biomedical Informatics at University of California at San Diego Health  have developed the COVID-19 Data Index, which collects and indexes all types of COVID-19 datasets from major data repositories, publications, and individual online sources.