East Asian History Course Guide: Getting Started
Getting Started
When embarking on a brand-new research topic, it is often helpful to begin your research by reading a basic overview of the subject. Encyclopedias provide such basic overviews; they help you familiarize yourself with relevant vocabulary, and often provide helpful suggestions for further reading as well. Below is a short list of (East) Asia related encyclopedias in print format available in the C.V. Starr East Asian Library, as well as a few links to more general online resources that include extensive coverage of East Asian subjects.
Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaCall Number: East Asian Ref. DS4 .L48 2002ISBN: 0684806177Publication Date: 2002-11-27
Brill's Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: East Asian Ref. DS755 .B86 2009ISBN: 9789004168633Publication Date: 2008-10-29
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: East Asian Ref. DS735 .A2 B47 2009ISBN: 9780977015948Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by Call Number: East Asian Ref. DS805 .K633 1983ISBN: 0870116207Publication Date: 1983-11-01- Japan: an illustrated encyclopediaCall Number: East Asian Ref. DS805 .J263 1993Publication Date: 1993-10-01
- An encyclopaedia of Korean culture by This is a bi-lingual Korean-English encyclopedia. The Korean title is Hanʾguk munhwa paekkwa sajŏn.Call Number: East Asian Ref. DS904 .H2525 2004gPublication Date: c2004
Encyclopedia of Mongolia and the Mongol Empire by
From Genghis Khan to the arid wastes of the Gobi desert, from the Soviet Union's most Stalinist satellite to the first Asian communist country to embrace democracy, Mongolia has always been an area of mystery and dread to westerners. Studied in school as part of the core curriculum, the Mongol Empire once stretched across Asia from the Pacific Ocean to Kiev and Baghdad. In modern times, interest in Mongolia has been suddenly sparked by the opening up of the country after 70 years of isolation in the Communist block. This first comprehensive A-to-Z encyclopedia of Mongolia and the Mongols provides up-to-date, accurate, and readable entries on all aspects of this people's turbulent history and rich culture, from prehistory to modern times. While particular emphasis is placed on the Mongol Empire, entries cover the country's entire history and range from geography to culture and religion to personalities, battles, daily life, and folklore. This volume is a great first-stop for research on Mongolia as well as a valuable reference for those wishing to expand their knowledge of a region that is, to most westerners, exotic and relatively unknown.
Call Number: East Asian Ref. DS798.4 .A88 2004ISBN: 9780816046713Publication Date: 2004-06-01- Encyclopaedia of Tibet by REFERENCE - Vol. 1: History and Geography of Tibet; Vol. 2: Travel and Memoirs of Tibet; Vol. 3: Society and Culture of Tibet; Vol. 4: Religious Heritage of Tibet; Vol. 5: Dalai Lama and Tibet; Vol. 6: India and Tibet; Vol. 7 Tibet and the World (Anmol)ISBN: 8174884130Publication Date: 1997-01-01
- Encyclopaedia of Nepal, Bhutan and Tibet by This is a 3-volume set, v.1 covers Nepal, v.2 Bhutan, and v.3 Tibet.Call Number: East Asian Ref. DS485.H6 K288 2007gPublication Date: c2007
- Encyclopdia Britannica online . This link opens in a new windowConsists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of many authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, articles not yet in the print Britannica encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus, and the Britannica year in review. New resources are frequently added.
- WikipediaUse with caution. Not all entries are reliable.