Ecology, Evolution & Environmental Biology (E3B) Research Guide for Courseworks: Websites
Research guide for Ecology. Evolution & Evolutionary Biology
- Biodiversity Heritage LibraryIncludes digitized taxonomic literature.
- BiologyInternet version of Kimball's textbook. The site provides in-depth explanations and illustrations on basic "Bio 101" topics.
- Birds of North America OnlineEncyclopedia of bird species in North America.
- Centers for Disease ControlThe U.S. government's Infectious Diseases Center Page, with information, news releases and links to bioterrorism and emergency preparedness resources.
- Encyclopedia of LifeEncyclopedia of living species that includes images and videos besides text.
- Endangered Species List (US)Includes links to lists searchable by region and/or taxa world wide.
- Environmental News NetworkIncludes online radio shows, newsletters, information on policy and legislation on all types of environmental issues.
- Human Genome ProjectIncludes projects news, abstracts on gene sequencing and mapping, general information about the project, a molecular genetics primer and much more.
- Indiana University Molecular Structure CenterIndiana University Molecular Structure Center.
- International Plant Science CenterIncludes an online specimen catalog. Part of the New York Botanical Garden.
- International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources Red ListThe Red List of Threatened Species.
- Mammal Species of the WorldAn online version of Wilson & Reeder's reference book.
- MycologyResources from Cornell University's page.
- National Academy of SciencesAcademy news, directories, publications, awards and PNAS full text.
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationA national resource for molecular biology information—it includes public databases, such as GENBANK, software for molecular biology data analysis, and online tutorials.
- National Library of Medicine Health Information GatewayIncludes consumer health information, medical dictionaries, health organizations' addresses, and links to Medline and all the other NLM databases.
- NatureServeNorth American ecological communities.
- Primate Info NetInformation on primate literature and research.
- Protein Data BankProtein Structural data and images.
- Protein Information ResourcesData on over 200,000 proteins run by the National Biomedical Research Foundation at Georgetown University.
- The Earth Institute Center for Environmental SustainabilityAn inter-disciplinary research organization based at Columbia University working with environmental and biodiversity issues world wide.
- Tree of LifeA project containing information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their history, and characteristics.
- World Health OrganizationUnited Nations information on health topics.
- DNA InteractiveResources from the DNA Learning Center
Images
- Grey's Anatomy
Online access to the classic anatomy textbook. - The Mouse Brain Library
High-resolution images and databases of brains from many genetically characterized strains of mice. - Vesalius' De Humani Corporis Fabrica
An English translation of Vesalius' first volume (of six) of the famous 1543 guide to human anatomy. Volume One covers bones and ligaments. The site includes essays that put the work in historical context and dissect the book's themes. - Whole Brain Atlas
An image atlas of normal and diseased human brain sections. - Internet Atlas of Histology
Over 1000 histological specimens with accompanying functional description.
Ask A Librarian
