In addition to the software available in the Digital Science Center, several other sites on campus have extensive software to support research and coursework:
The Science & Engineering Library provides a wide range of software to support research and coursework in several science and engineering disciplines. All of the software below is available for use on the computers located in the Science & Engineering Library, and some is also available for download and use on personal computers.
Google Scholar retrieves references to books, abstracts, and e-journal articles from selected university and scholarly repositories. Columbia's Google Scholar link above also provides direct links to the full-text article for materials in our holdings. Remember to adjust your settings and add a link to Columbia University e-link: Settings > Library Links > Columbia University > Save
Google Book Search searches the full text of books that Google scans and stores in its digital database. It provides online access to full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by the libraries
If you often do your research from off-campus, we recommend you install the proxy bookmarklet on your browser's bookmarks toolbar. The bookmarklet lets you log into the proxy without having to browse from the Columbia University Libraries website.
Libraries Search Plugins
Add our search plugins to quickly search our website, the Columbia University Directory, CLIO, Google Scholar, and more.
Encyclopedia Britannica widgets are ready to embed into websites, allowing you to quickly and easily explore a variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Browser Lookup Tools