CLME UN1520: Introduction to Modern Hebrew Literature: Guide to Hebrew Literature
This is a guide to research for Professor Roni Henig's Introduction to Modern Hebrew Literature Course.
Basic resources for accessing books and articles
- CLIO : library web : Columbia University Libraries online catalog. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains catalog records for books, serials, newspapers, music scores, sound recordings, microforms, maps, computer files, archives and manuscripts, videorecordings, and other visual materials added to the Columbia University Libraries since 1981, including some material acquired before that date. Also contains records for the U.S. Government Documents collection in Lehman Library. - Borrow Direct. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Borrow Direct is a rapid delivery service that allows patrons from participating libraries to check the availability of and request books from the combined catalogs of Harvard, Princeton, Dartmouth, Cornell, Columbia, Penn, Brown, University of Chicago, and MIT.
- RAMBI: The Index to Articles in Jewish StudiesMaintained by The National Library of Israel, this is a searchable catalog for articles and book chapters in all fields of Jewish Studies. Note that the catalog only lists references to the articles, not the articles themselves. Check CLIO to see if Columbia holds the resources listed in your search (they are often accessible online).
- Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan is your resource for books not found in CLIO or Borrow Direct, as well as articles or book chapters not available directly through Columbia. Click on the "Request It" link anywhere on the Columbia University Libraries' website to navigate to the ILL request form. Or use the E-Link feature from databases or catalogs (such as WorldCat) to link to an auto-filled ILL form.
Hebrew Language
- Rav-milim : the ultimate Hebrew dictionary. This link opens in a new windowOnline version of 6-volume print set. This is a comprehensive dictionary and includes all strata of the Hebrew language, from the Biblical to current Israeli slang. Includes linguistic tools that can find and retrieve any of Hebrew's 70 million inflected forms, and also supply other grammatical functions.
- Hebrew and Yiddish Transliteration Tables(Produced at Princeton University)
- Modern Hebrew AbbreviationsNote: Site in Hebrew
Hebrew Literature
- Ben Yehuda ProjectA free digital library of Hebrew literature, maintained and updated by volunteers
- Lexicon of Modern Hebrew LiteratureThis extensive lexicon, compiled by Joseph Galron-Goldschlager, includes a description and bibliography for nearly every important author of Hebrew literature. (In Hebrew)
- Hebrew LiteratureA concise overview of the field of modern Hebrew literature, presented in English by the Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
- Bama Hadasha: The New StageThis Hebrew site is a forum for authors to present their literature. Users can vote and comment on the works. It is a good resource for new and cutting edge forms of literature.
- Mafteah le-maamarim be-Ivrit . This link opens in a new windowCovers articles from approximately 1060 Hebrew periodicals and 185 monographs dealing with the land of Israel. The database contains the following: the Index to Hebrew Periodicals; the Eretz Israel database; the Tel-Hai Index to Israeli Newspapers, and the Bar-Ilan University Index to Newspaper Literary Supplements.
- PoetransPoetrans is an index of poetry translations into Hebrew. "The index aspires to be a digital database of all tables of content of all poetry books ever translated into Hebrew. "
Norman E. Alexander Librarian for Jewish Studies
Michelle Chesner
309 International Affairs (420 W. 118th St.)
New York, NY 10027
212-854-8046
New York, NY 10027
212-854-8046
Recent Acquisitions in Hebrew Literature
Loading ...