Library Orientation Dec. 6, 2019: Searching Japanese language resources in original script

Why do we want Japanese script search on CLIO?

ningyo -> 人形 or人魚

nihon no sho -> 日本の賞 or 日本の書

Issues:

• Word division in Japanese script fields: Columbia stopped using this practice around 2007. Currently, bibliographic records created with word division in Japanese script fields work well for keyword searching in Japanese script. However, we are planning to delete spaces for word division.
• East Asian Character Code (EACC)/MARC 8: Some variants cannot be easily input by regular Japanese keyboards.
• New and traditional Chinese characters (新字・旧字)
• Not all the fields in Japanese script are indexed for searching. Updated: 2/24/2020

<Examples>

• Japanese script searches work better for browse searching. Japanese script searches do not work well for keyword searches. 

eg) エリート or erito

• EACC/MARC 8 variants

eg) 江戸 or 江戶

• New and traditional Chinese character variants

eg) 村上龍 or 村上竜

• Japanese script search does not work well if you want to use publisher name as your keyword.  

eg) 国書刊行会

<Other CLIO tips for Japanese Language Resources>

●　Exact match search is important for keywords like 能. Unfortunately, CLIO search screen or search tips, doesn't offer the trick to do "exact match search." You need to use facet options.

● To find DVDs for East Asian Collection, use Series search for East Asian film collection.

Our library resources in CJK languages are cataloged using the East Asian Character Code (EACC) or MARC 8. Some characters in these code sets are different from what we can produce with a regular Japanese keyboards. Adding frequently used ariants on your input system can be helpful. 

1. Finding EACC/MARC8 variants

You can find those variants in library catalog in CLIO or in the following databases:

• CJK Compatibility Database (Library of Congress) 
• IME variants not present in the EACC/MARC21 character sets

Frequently-encountered EACC variants include: 戶 (戸)、錄 (録)、 說 (説)、卷 (巻)、姬 (姫)、寬 (寛)

2. Adding EACC/MARC8 variants to your input editor

<Window's Users>

Click on tools icon on the Language Bar and select Add Word or Entry to add characters and words with EACC/MARC 8 variants.  

<Mac Users>

Please read Edit and use your Japanese user dictionaries on Mac at support.apple.com.

<iPad and iPhone>

Go to Settings -> General ->Keyboards-> Text Replacement and add variant characters and words.

Updated: 12/5/2019

When searching CLIO, it matters if your Japanese keywords are typed in new or traditional Chinese characters. But you may not need to think about it in other databases. Before you start using any particular databases, test first. 

Also you may need to be careful when you are searching aggregated databases. Each component of the database may act differently.

Update: 12/5/2019