Columbia University Archives: Columbia History & Traditions

University Archives

Butler Library postcardColumbia University Archives
Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Butler Library, 6th Floor
535 West 114th Street
New York, NY 10027

Phone: (212) 854-3786
Fax: (212) 854-1365
E-mail: uarchives@columbia.edu

Map | Hours | Directions

Related Collections

Barnard College
The Barnard Archives and Special Collections serves as the final repository for the historical records of Barnard College, from its founding in 1889 to the present day. For more information, please contact archives@barnard.edu.

Health Sciences Library
The Archives and Special Collections at the Augustus C. Long Health Sciences Library of Columbia University can help you find information about the schools of the Medical Center: College of Physicians & Surgeons, School of Nursing, College of Dental Medicine (formerly the School of Dental & Oral Surgery), Mailman School of Public Health, and the College of Pharmaceutical Sciences. For more information, please contact hslarchives@columbia.edu.

Columbia History & Traditions

How to find find University Archives resources related to specific subjects

Libraries vs. Archives

Libraries organize materials by subject areas: think of call numbers and how books related to one subject can be found on the same shelf. Archives are not organized by subject, but rather by the person(s) who created, used and collected the records. Archivists arrange and describe records as they were kept originally. For example, the Office of the President records are kept in the context in which they were created but these records can cover a unlimited range of subjects: from the introduction of coeducation, the 1968 student strike, the divestment from South Africa protests.

Creator vs. Subject

Sometimes looking for archival collections to use in research may be pretty straightforward: if you know the relevant individuals (Jacques Barzun) and/or creators (Office of the Provost), you can look at their records to see how they inform your research. Other times, it may not be as obvious which archival collections contain records related to your research subject. The University Archives staff has put together these subject research guides to point out resources, both online and in our archival collections, that may inform these popular research areas.

How to request archival materials

Archival collections are non-circulating and can only be viewed in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library's reading room (RBML). In order to use the University Archives collections at the RBML, researchers are required to register their own Special Collections Research Account before their visit and to validate the account in person with government-issued photo identification or Columbia ID card.

Once you have created your Special Collections Research Account, you will be able to request the materials directly from the finding aid or the CLIO record.

  • From the finding aid: Click the check box located on the right for the box(es) you need, and then scroll back to the top of the container list document and click “Submit Request” button in the red-rimmed box at top. This should lead you directly to your Special Collections Research Account to complete the request form.
  • From the CLIO record: Look for the "Request: Special Collections" link found by the item's location and call number on the right side of the page.

Materials stored onsite can be made available on the same day and will be paged when you sign into the Reading Room. However, due to space constraints, many collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. We prefer 5 business days advanced notice to retrieve materials from offsite storage, but generally require at least 3 business days to process such requests.

Use your Special Collections Research Account to request material prior to your research visit. Once you have followed the steps to request materials, you will have the opportunity to schedule a date for your request. If you are not sure if the collection you are interested in viewing is stored offsite, if you need materials sooner, or you have other questions, do not hesitate to contact uarchives@columbia.edu for assistance. For more information on how to access our collections, check out our Research & Access website.

About the image

Eisenhower on Low Library steps with a group of students (Scan 1306). Historical Photograph Collection, University Archives, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, Columbia University Libraries.