Federal Government Shutdown: Archives

The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments throughout the world in the twentieth century.

This collection includes the extensive FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest. In addition, there is documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee Stand-off. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide unparalleled insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.

This collection brings to the fore a unique selection of 2,429 primary source documents illustrating U.S.-Argentina relations during the late 1970s, when, after the collapse of Isabel Perón's government, the Argentine armed forces took control of the country.

This collection contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president. Contents of this collection include memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, statements of administration policy (SAP's), case histories, legislative histories and news-clippings covering a broad range of civil rights issues.

Collection traces more than 60 years of U.S. involvement in Latin America's longest-running internal conflict, from the early days of the Cold War through the deluge of recent political scandals, which have revealed unprecedented levels of corruption in the country's major political institutions.

This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.

Fully searchable database of original source material from the British Government files on the Middle East from the National Archives of the UK. Offers a broad range of material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.

This collection provides insights into President Kennedy's views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises.

Collection of documents focusing on Henry Kissinger's roles in policymaking and diplomacy under presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford, including telephone conversations (telcons) and memoranda of conversations (memcons) of National Security Council and State Department meetings and overseas trips.

With a nearly 2000-mile shared border, the economic, security, and social concerns of Mexico and the United States are deeply intertwined. This collection presents 1,877 documents focusing on one aspect of that complex and multifaceted relationship: counternarcotics policy.

This publication consists of the testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals who had studied the subjects of the Commission's inquiry. Many of the transcripts are personal stories of experiences of evacuees. Documents include publications, reports, press releases, photographs, newspaper clippings, etc. related to the hearings.

This set documents nuclear weapons policies during the presidential administrations of Richard M. Nixon and Gerald R. Ford. With the deployment of multiple independently targetable delivery vehicles (MIRVs) and the initiation of strategic arms control talks, this was a significant period in the history of the nuclear age and essential for understanding the developments of subsequent years.

This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals.