Real Estate Research Guide: Industry Statistics

► 42Floors Commerical Real Estate Data in U.S. Urban Markets

For student use only. Commercial Real Estate Data in U.S. Urban Markets, provided by 42Floors.

► Bloomberg: Available in Watson Library and DSSC

One of the world's leading financial databases, Bloomberg also includes a significant amount of information related to real estate. Access to Bloomberg is limited to a dedicated Bloomberg terminal. There are Bloomberg terminals in Watson Library and the Digital Social Science Center (DSSC). Bloomberg is a command driven system. New Bloomberg users can start by looking at specific REIT securities or looking at the Real Estate Industry page. Some relevant real estate commands include: 

• Real Estate Main Menu: RE <Go>
• Real Estate Vital Statistics: VST <Go>
• REIT Index: BBREIT <Go>
• Ratios for a specific REIT: ticker symbol then type DES3 <Go>

► Grubb & Ellis Market Research Reports

This Web site from Grubb & Ellis provides access to their Market Trends reports which cover real estate market conditions in North America and arm the patrons with the most up-to-date information possible on vacancy and absorption rates, rent comparisons, sales prices, new construction, economic background analysis and more. The Metro Trends quarterly reports for the latest data analysis of local markets. These two-to-six page reports include analytical commentary and detailed tables displaying data by sub-market. Metro Trends cover every major market in North America and are available approximately three weeks after the end of each quarter.

► Commercial Real Estate Research from Cushman and Wakefield

Contains commercial rents for several markets in the United States.

► Market Pulse Reports from Cushman and Wakefield

Contains commercial rents for several markets in the United States.  Choose Market from drop down box on right.

► PwC Real Estate Investor Survey (HD1382.5 .K671 )

Updated quarterly. Contains information on property revenues, operating expenses, and payroll costs by department. Management fees, franchise fees, and selected fixed charges are also tracked. There are two separate sections: full-service and limited service.

► R. S. Means Data

Cost data for creating a building construction estimate. The Library has:

• RS Means green building cost data
• RS Means commercial renovation cost data
• RS Means repair & remodeling cost data
• RS Means concrete & masonry cost data
• RS Means light commercial cost data
• RS Means facilities maintenance & repair cost data

► Savills Studley Report

The quarterly Savills Studley Report is an in-depth compilation of office leasing statistics (commercial rents) and trends, major transactions, submarket comparisons, employment trends, and investment and development trends specific to 18 major US markets.

► Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA)

FHFA provides regulation and oversight of federal housing finance organizations. This website includes research and analysis including the house price index, housing market indicators, market data, public use data, and research papers.

► Mortgage Market Statistical Annual

Provides comprehensive and accurate data on all mortgage loan originations and servicing, including sub-prime data, home-equity lending and extensive statistics on loan securitizations. The Library has 2006 - 2014. Latest volume in Watson reference stacks.

► Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. Contains real estate industry reports and statistics in US, China, and more. 

► Trulia

A national search engine that provides housing/neighborhood information and community insights, including crime statistics, amenities (cafes, groceries, active life, spas, restaurants, etc.), census data, rental prices, for sale properties, market trends, and more.

► U.S. Housing Market Conditions

Slot U-200 (Current Periodicals)