Research Guides: Real Estate Research Guide: Articles, Books, and News

Reference Books

Commercial Real Estate Analysis and Investments
Call Number: HD1393.55 .G45 2001b
ISBN: 0324136765
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
Providies an in depth study of the financial and urban economics of commercial real estate from an investment perspective.
Finance for Real Estate Development
Call Number: HD1390 .L66 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-25
Explaining how finances drive each decision in the real estate development process.

And more...

• Barron's Real Estate Handbook
HD1375.H349

• Dictionary of Real Estate Appraisal
HD1387.D435

• Emerging Trends in Real Estate Europe 2008
HD 581.A1 E44 (Reference)

• Encyclopedia of Real Esate Terms
HD1365.A23 (Reference)

• Glossary of Real Estate Management Terms
HD1365.G58

• Handbook of Commercial Real Estate Investing
HD 1393.55.M384 2006 (Reference)

• International Real Estate Finance Review
HD 1361.I68 2008/2009 (Reference)

• Real Estate Investment Handbook
HD1382.5 H35

• Real Estate Market Analysis: A Case Study Approach
HD1390.S36 (Business Stacks)

Finding articles in the real estate fields can be comprehensive. Here are some tips that might be helpful to you:

Start with databases that cover broader subjects, i.e. ProQuest, Business Source Complete, or Google Scholar.
Reuse the subjects/keywords information from sample articles that fit in your research needs to do another search. Here are some helpful search terms: real estate business, real property, real estate investment, real estate management, facility management, house buying, housing development, land subdivision, and more.
Check on Concise Encyclopedia of Real Estate Terms for more industry-related terms.
Manage your articles by using one of the citation management tools Columbia University provides: EndNote, RefWorks, or Zotero.

ABI/INFORM global . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search 1800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, management techniques, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the Wall Street Journal.
ABI/INFORM global .
Business source complete . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete ... [provides] full text for ... scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for ... peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for ... top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."--Ebscohost web site.
Business source complete .

Cornell Real Estate Review
The Cornell Real Estate Review is committed to furthering research and collegiality among faculty, professionals, and students in real estate and its related professions.

ULI development case studies . This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed projects ranging from low-income housing to mixed-use downtown developments to commercial and industrial projects. The case studies provide photographs and site plans, information on costs and rents, innovative features and strategies of the project, and an explanation of the entire development process. It covers projects from 1985 to the present. Thirty new case studies are added every year.
ULI development case studies .

Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni.
Factiva . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.
Factiva .