Photography: Guide to Research: Citing Images

Chicago Manual of Style 16^th ed. (2010) (https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/10870158)
Captions should be numbered consecutively, with the following elements in this order:
Figure and number with period.
Title in italics,
By [Artist],
Year.

EXAMPLE:

Figure 1. Migrant Mother, by Dorothea Lange, 1936.

College Art Association Submission & Style, Preparing an Accepted Manuscript for Publication (http://www.collegeart.org/artbulletin/guidelines-accepted.html):
The College Art Association's Art Bulletin style is a modification of the Chicago Manual of Style. It gives the most thorough information, and is widely seen as the preferred style to use.  Scroll down to their Captions sections:

Captions should be numbered consecutively. Figure numbers do not include a period. A full caption includes, whenever available and appropriate, information in the following order:
Figure number with no period
Artist (first name, last name)
Title (in italics)
Date
Medium on support
Dimensions in inches (h. x w. x d.) followed by dimensions in centimeters (1 inch = 2.54 cm)
Name of collection
City of collection
Other collection information such as "gift of . . . ," accession number, etc.
Copyright or credit line information regarding both the photograph and the artwork (in parentheses)

EXAMPLES:

Artwork:

1 Piet Mondrian, Dutch, 1872-1944, Apple Tree in Bloom, 1912, Oil on canvas, 78.1 x 107 cm. Gemeentemuseum, the Hague, Netherlands photo copyright: Lisa Van Duzer (gift)

Photograph:

2 Steichen, Edward. Enlisted Men of the USS Lexington.  1943.  Art, Architecture & Engineering Library Collection.  University of Michigan.  March 21, 2009.

Special Presentation:

3 William Kentridge.  Multimedia Interactive Feature.  San Francisco: San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 2009.  Explore Modern Artn.  March 2009. San Francisco Museum of Modern Art.  March 21, 2009.
 

Art Work:

4 Mary Cassatt, Mother and Child, ca 1890, Oil on canvas, 35 ½ x 25 3/8” (90.1 x 64.5 cm). Wichita Art Museum, Whichita, Kansas, Roland P. Murdock Collection, M109.53 (© Wichita Art Museum 2002)

Modern Language Association Style
See: Gibaldi, Joseph. MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 3rd ed.
New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1998. (Avery Fine Arts N28 G35)

The caption should be labeled as Figure (usually abbreviated Fig.), assigned an Arabic numeral, and given a title or caption.   For photos of artwork, include the book's publication information of the text in which the image appears.  A label and title or caption ordinarily appear directly below the illustration and have the same one-inch margins as the text of the paper. Captions should be numbered consecutively.

EXAMPLE:

 
Fig. 1. Mary Cassatt, Mother and Child, Wichita Art Museum. Illus. in Novelene Ross, Toward an American Identity: Selections from the Wichita Art Museum Collection of American Art (Wichita, Kansas: Wichita Art Museum, 1997) 107.