Journalism Research Guide: Databases

"AP Newsroom contains breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics and audio clips produced by the AP's network of award-winning journalists, who operate in more than 250 locations worldwide. Whether they're reporting from campaign trails, red carpets or stadium sidelines, AP journalists deliver in-depth stories on a variety of subjects--from politics, business and finance to entertainment, fashion and food."

The Web-based edition is a fully searchable version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including an A-Z guide to usage, spelling, and a pronunciation guide with audio files.

Forming the foundation of Associations Unlimited, the Encyclopedia of Associations (EA) series contains information for international and United States national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. Features description, full contact information, Internal Revenue Service (IRS) data, standard industrial classification (SIC) codes, and meetings and publications information.

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.

Database of statistics about New York City from 1980 to the present. Consists of official statistical data from U.S., New York State, and New York City agencies. Includes population statistics, housing data, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, and more. Data is presented for the geographies that are unique to New York City.

Contains data corresponding to 14 leadership directory yellow books: Congressional yellow book, Federal yellow book, State yellow book, Municipal yellow book, Federal regional yellow book, Judicial yellow book, Corporate yellow book, Financial yellow book, News media yellow book, Associations yellow book, Law firms yellow book, Government affairs yellow book, Foreign representatives yellow book, and: Nonprofit sector yellow book.

An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.

Contains news reports, editorials, and, with ProQuest Historical and Recent Newspapers, advertisements, stock tables, cartoons, and more. More than 3,000 of the world's news sources, such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, The Times of India, and many more are open to discovery.

Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.

"Our objective is to help visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Our primary functions include Demographic Data Analysis, Interactive Map/Report Design and Software Development. Our main goal is to visually display the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. since 1790 through the present, for the country over all down to the level of the county. For more recent years, one can display areas as small as your own neighborhood. Certain cities may even be displayed as far back as 1910. To do this we have developed a collection of interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried and manipulated on our site."

Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export featore. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more.

Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes titles such as Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty and Race.

Indexes journalism covering cultural, economic, political and social change

Analyze historical events and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. 5,000 titles, 2,000 hours.

Associated Press archive of over photographs from 1844 to the present, audio files of radio broadcasts, text of wire stories, and info-graphics.

Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

Access global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes access to the AP Daybook.

(Nexis Uni) An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.

Every surviving program from the show's inception in 1947 through the present day. All programs can be watched in streaming format and are fully searchable. All programs are provided with running transcripts. Programs and clips can be saved to a playlist and shared with others.

Provides a variety of libraries with Web-based access to current and archived content from more than 2,000 newspaper titles, as well as newswires, transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

An independent, privately owned specialist site focused on North Korea. Content includes news, news aggregator, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and other data about North Korea.

The PBS video collection assembles hundreds of documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Service, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, as well as films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Call and Post, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Irish Times, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman.

A database of articles from US national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and/or selected regional/state newspapers. Chronological coverage of individual newspapers varies. Most articles are full text and are searchable by word, topic or newspaper title.

Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News. Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player. Descriptive summaries of the Vanderbilt University collection of network television news programs and other news-related programming collected in its archive since August 5, 1968. Loan copies of videotapes in 3/4 inch U-matic & 1/2 inch VHS. format are available for a fee from the Archive.

Searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the world. Begins with Latin American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. Forthcoming are African, European, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and Southeast Asian newspapers. Can be cross-searched with collection: America's historical newspapers.

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.

Comprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources world-wide. Coverage includes communication literature and literature in other related disciplines, such as international literature in film studies, role of technology in human communications, risk communications, crisis communication and public opinions.

Contains core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages (including over 2,600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters).

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

Full text articles from over 2,500 publications dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982

Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.

Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles and English language books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Provides abstracts and full text of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers. Topics covered include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management.

Social sciences full text covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. More than 350 key international, English-language periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.

Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.