Resources for CJS Alumni: News Archives
News Archives for Alumni
Online Newspaper Databases
Associated Press (AP) Stylebook Online
The Web-based edition is a fully searchable version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including an A-Z guide to usage, spelling, and a pronunciation guide with audio files.
U.S. Newsstream
Access to almost 50 national and international newspapers. Includes the Chicago Tribune and LA Times.
Chronicling America 
Search and view public domain newspaper pages (1690-1963) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress.
Proquest Alternative Press Watch
Provides full-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current
Ethnic NewsWatch
Includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
New York Public Library Databases
90 additional newspaper databases. Available to all New York Public Library card holders.
Microfiche/Microfilm
Microform Collection at Butler Library
Over 1,000 newspapers are available. Search CLIO to determine the call number of the microform and where it is located. In many cases, you must use an index to determine specific reel or holdings information. Indexes are shelved in PMRR. PMRR Staff assistance is available in 401 Butler Library at all times to answer questions related to access and retrieval of particular reels. Librarians at Butler Reference (Rm. 301) can help with further questions related to the card catalog, indexes or databases related to microforms. 73 New York specific titles available in microformat.
Periodicals & Microforms Reading Room
Located in Butler Library, the Periodicals & Microforms Reading Room provides access to newspapers, academic and other periodicals, monographs, and series. It is possible to scan portions of film or fiche and then download the images to a CD, DVD, or flash drive. This can be done in PMRR or Digital Humanities Center (DHC, 305 Butler). Patrons who wish to use the DHC machine will be allowed to check out microfilm or microfiche in exchange for a photo ID.