JPRS, the largest single producer of English-language translations, was established in 1957 to provide agencies of the U.S. federal government with translations of foreign documents in all fields of technology, science, and the social sciences. Translations were done by private researchers and linguists under government contract with JPRS. JPRS was merged into the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports described above, in 1995.
The Lehman collection of JPRS reports includes:
- JPRS Reports.
Microfiche - Lehman (1974-1995)
The annual indexes for that period, also on microfiche, are filed at the beginning of the JPRS microfiche.
- JPRS Reports.
Microcards - Offsite (June 1964-Dec.1978)
The microcards need to be requested for delivery to Butler Library, which has the only microcard reader on campus. The collection is incomplete for these dates, with many gaps in the holdings.
The following titles are printed indexes to older JPRS Reports. The Reports themselves are on microfilm/microprint sets which are not part of the Columbia University Libraries collections, but can be located in other libraries:
- Bibliography-index to Current U.S. JPRS Translations: China and Asia Exclusive of Near East. 10 vols.
NY : Research & Microfilm Publications, 1962-1966.
Z 3101 .C44 - Offsite
- China and Asia (Exclusive of Near East) : Bibliography-index to U.S. JPRS Research Translations.
Washington, D.C. : Research and Microfilm Publications, 1964-1968.
Z 3101 .C44 - Offsite
Have only v.3 (1964/1965)-v.6 (1967/1968)
- Index to Readex Microprint Edition of JPRS Reports (Joint Publications Research Service). 5 vols.
NY : Readex Microprint Corp., 1958-1976.
Z 6293 .Un3 - Offsite
- Kyriak, Theodore E.
Asian Developments: a Bibliography. 3 vols.
Annapolis, MD : Research Microfilms, 1962-1964.
Z 3001 .A81 - Offsite
From July 1962 through Aug. 1964 contains only China (JPRS-SS-C).
- Subject Index to United States Joint Publications Research Service Translations.
Annapolis, MD : Research & Microfilm Publications, 1966-1968.
Z 1223 .Z9 S9 - Offsite