Patents, Technical Reports, and Standards: Standards

• CLIO (Columbia & Barnard catalog)
  • My Library Account (Renew books, library fines, etc.)
  • Course Reserves
• e-Book Collections
• EDUCAT (Teachers College catalog)
• Pegasus (Law Library catalog)
• WorldCat
• More Library Catalogs

NOTE:  We only have full text access to the content listed below under ACCESSIBLE TO COLUMBIA AFFILIATES.  There are few affordable options for broad access to standards (e.g. ISO) and we have to assess these on a case-by-case basis.  If you can't find a standard covering the topic you need in the sites below, or if you need a specific standard not found in the full text databases or the print items indicated below, please contact ref-sci@columbia.edu and we will evaluate your options.

LOOKING FOR ISO STANDARDS?  We now have access to European-adopted ISO standards via ASTM's partnership with AENOR.  For the most part the text of these standards is the same as the "regular" ISO documents.  Connect to ASTM below to search for these along with ASTM's own standards.

ACCESSIBLE TO COLUMBIA AFFILIATES:

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) International - Full-text available through CUL

INCLUDES EUROPEAN NORMATIVE AND EUROPEAN ADOPTED ISO STANDARDS

Once past the user agreement, click on the drop-down menu to the left of the search box and select "My Subscription"

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) - Full-text available through CUL

ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) - Full-text available through CUL

Access provided through ASME Digital Library - Click on STANDARDS in the menu, and then use the 'Click here to access via institutional account' link underneath the 'Sign In' prompt in the top right of the page

IEEE Standards - Full-text available through CUL

SAE Digital Library - 8000+ ground vehicle standards

AASHTO LRFD bridge design specifications - e-book

American Concrete Institute (ACI) Manual of Concrete Practice - print

ASME Boiler and Pressure Code, Section II - e-book

Additional sources and publishers -- these will not be free, or cheap!

ANSI: American National Standards Institute

ASSIST - Military standards and specifications; must register to use

CEN - European Committee for Standardization

Code of Federal Regulations (U.S.)

European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)

IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission

Internet Society

ISO Catalogue

ITU - International Telecommunication Union

NASA Technical Standards

NISO - National Information Standards Organization

NIST - National Institute of Standards & Technology

NSSN: Search Engine for Standards

Underwriters Laboratory (UL)

List of Society Standards (Georgia Tech)

Society for Standards Professionals

• Standards 101 (From ASTM)
• Case Studies (From ANSI)
• Basic Introduction to Standards
• ASME Codes & Standards
  Examples of Use for Students
•  

• IHS Standards Store
• ILI Standards Infobase
• TechStreet: Technical Information Superstore