Graphic Novels: Events

Banner

logo by Tom Daly Illustration

Introduction

Since Fall 2011, Comics@Columbia has been presenting events that celebrate comics: sometimes in honor of a new archival acquisition, sometimes just to shine a light on a corner of the comics scene.

In reverse chronological order, please find information below on our various panels and symposia.

Upcoming, current, and past

2016

Coming up on Thursday, 17 November, scholar Tahneer Oksman joins Columbia professor Jeremy Dauber for a book talk, discussing ways in which certain Jewish women cartoonists manifest their Jewishness through their work.

Coming up on Tuesday, 1 November, at 7 PM: French cartoonists Kerascoët, Pénélope Bagieu and Catherine Meurisse speak with Kriota Willberg about the challenges of conveying powerful emotions through comics. Part of the FRENCH COMICS FRAMED events, co-sponsored by the Cultural Services of the French Embassy and the French Comics Association.

On Thursday, 13 October, pioneering cartoonist and activist Howard Cruse joins writer and cartoonist Allan Neuwirth for a discussion of Cruse's five-decade-long career, in celebration of the acquisition of the Cruse archives by sponsor, Columbia's Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

 

On 20 September, five Spanish cartoonists, whose work on the cutting edge of comics has brought about a new wave of cartoon art in Spain come to Columbia: Santiago García, Javier Olivares, David Rubín, Ana Galvañ, and José Domingo. Co-sponsored by the Consulate General of Spain and Columbia's Hispanic Institute.

 

 

On Monday, 18 April, 2016: author and cartoonist Michael Maslin in conversation with illustrator Edward Sorel, discussing Maslin's new book on Peter Arno, the foundational cartoonist of The New Yorker. 

 

 

On Wednesday, 16 March, 2016: in honor of Bill Griffith's decision to bequeath the majority of his archives to Columbia's Rare Book & Manuscript Library, a conversation between Griffith and cartoonist Art Spiegelman.

 

 

On Monday, 7 March, 2016: Comics@Columbia celebrates Will Eisner Week with a conversation between writer Paul Levitz and his teaching partner, Columbia professor Jeremy Dauber, to discuss Levitz's new book on Will Eisner.

 

2015

On Monday, 7 December, 2015, cartoonist, illustrator, playwright, screenwriter, memoirist, etc Jules Feiffer came to campus to chat with comics writer, editor, and promoter Danny Fingeroth, in support of Martha Fay's Feiffer retrospective book, Out of line: the art of Jules Feiffer.

 

 

On Thursday, 8 October, 2015, cartoonist and educator Alex Simmons moderated a panel on diversity in comics, with Amy Chu, Larry Hama, John Jennings, Alitha E. Martinez, and Shawn Martinbrough.

 

 

On Monday, 13 April, Comics@Columbia celebrated the acquisition of the Kitchen Sink Press archives with an evening devoted to Denis Kitchen, with Howard Cruse, Maggie Galvan, James Danky, and David Hajdu.

 

2014

 

On Monday, 3 November, 2014, editorial cartoons were the topic in a discussion among cartoonists Jeff Danziger, Liza Donnelly, and Peter Kuper.

 

 

On Tuesday, 7 October, 2014, Comics@Columbia and the Rare Book & Manuscript Library held an opening for "Comics at Columbia: Past, Present, Future," an exhibition of over 160 items--art, sketches, correspondence, scripts, books, and more--from the RBML archives.  The exhibition featured recent acquisitions, as well as materials in a variety of long-held archives.

 

 

On Tuesday, 4 March, 2014, Comics@Columbia and the Rare Book & Manuscript Library celebrated the acquisition of Al Jaffee's archives, with Al himself, joined by MAD art director Sam Viviano, cartoonist Peter Kuper, and writer Paul Levitz moderating.

 

2013

 

On Wednesday, 13 November, 2013, Brooklyn, the hotbed of contemporary comics talent, sent three of its stars up to Morningside Heights for a discussion of their work: Dash Shaw, Gabrielle Bell, and Lisa Hanawalt.

 

 

On Monday, 14 October, 2013, Comics@Columbia premiered Sequart's documentary on Chris Claremont.

 

 

On Wednesday, 9 October, 2013, Comics@Columbia and the Rare Book & Manuscript Library celebrated the acquisition of the Pinis' archives with a panel moderated by librarian and Elfquest fan Sabrina Sondhi, featuring Wendy and Richard Pini with comics librarian Karen Green.

 

 

On Monday, 15 April, 2013, Comics@Columbia partnered with the Cultural Affairs office of the French Embassy to host one of four events in the "Picture This!" series.  This panel presented a conversation between two masters of literary adaptation, French cartoonist Alex Alice and American cartoonist Ronald Wimberly.

 

 

On Thursday, 7 March, 2013, Comics@Columbia and the Rare Book & Manuscript Library celebrated some recent Golden Age (and Golden Age-related) acquisitions: Batman scripts from Jerry Robinson's archives and the research materials used to write the acclaimed Superman: the high-flying history of America's most enduring hero. Author Larry Tye joined writer/editor Denny O'Neil, cartoonist Al Jaffee, and former Warner exec Jay Emmett in a discussion moderated by former DC Comics president Paul Levitz.

 

2012 

 

On Thursday, 8 November, 2012, rising star Liana Finck discussed her adaptation of letters from the Bintl Brief with Forward publisher Samuel Norich, and Yiddish studies scholar Eddy Portnoy.

On Saturday and Sunday, 24-25 March, 2012, Comics@Columbia held a 2-day symposium honoring the intertwined histories of comics and New York City.  For more information on this event, including links to videos of the panels, see the separate "Comic New York" tab on this guide.

 

2011

 

On Friday, October 28, 2011, writer Marzana Sowa and artist Sylvain Savoia discussed their comics memoir of Marzana's childhood in Soviet, then Solidarity, Poland.

 

 

On Friday, 7 October, 2011, scientist and comics writer Jim Ottaviani came to Columbia to talk about his comics adaptation of Richard Feynman's autobiography.

 

2009

 

On Wednesday, 10 June, 2009, Comics@Columbia kicked off its first-ever comics event with artist and fantasist Dame Darcy.