English and American Literature: New Resources 2014-2016

New or Expanded Resources

The databases linked below were either newly acquired or significantly expanded (in terms of content or functionality) since January 2014.

  • America's historical imprints (Readex)
    Provides access to historical publications in a variety of formats: monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera. The following collections were recently added:  The American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS); The American Civil War Collection, 1860-1922 from AAS; Evans, 1639-1800: Supplement from AAS; Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819: Supplement from AAS. (New collections added August 2015)
     
  • British Literary Manuscripts Online  (Gale Cengage Learning)
    Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, which range in date from the twelfth through the nineteenth centuries. Includies "letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. . . .  the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. (Acquired December 2013, April 2014)
     
  • Defining Gender, 1450-1910 (Adam Matthew)
    Provides access to a wide range of historical document types "ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, receipt books, literary manuscripts, travel writing, and conduct and advice literature. Thematic Areas covered include: Conduct and Politeness; Domesticity and the Family; Consumption and Leisure; Education and Sensibility; and The Body. (Acquired June 2015)
     
  • Drama Online (Bloomsbury Publishing)
    Includes the full text of plays from across the history of the theatre, ranging from Aeschylus to the present day. Includes non-English-language works in translation, scholarly and critical editions, first night program texts, and critical analysis and contextual information. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts, acting and backstage guides. Also includes over 500 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum's archive of production photos. Now includes streaming media: filmed live performances from Shakespeare's Globe and professional audio recordings from L.A Theatre Works. (Acquired June 2015)
     
  • Eighteenth Century Drama : Censorship, Society and the Stage Icon (Adam Matthew)
    "Eighteenth Century Drama features the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library -- a unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, as well as hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. Explore the Larpent plays, papers of prominent theatrical figures of the period, including correspondence, financial documents, and portraits. Cross-reference this with essential searchable databases created from information in The London Stage 1729-1800 and A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800."  (Acquired April 2016)
     
  • Gale Artemis : primary sources (Gale Cengage Learning)
    "Gale Artemis is a path-breaking research experience that unites Gale's globally acclaimed digital archives. Artemis Primary Sources allows researchers to uncover primary source documents in archives where they may not have thought to look, greatly enhancing their research experience. By building a seamless research environment for multiple collections, Gale is creating the largest digital humanities and social sciences collection in the world." Currently provides cross-searchable access to 25 databases, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online; Nineteenth Century Collections Online; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection; Sabin Americana, 1500-1926; 19th Century British Newspapers and Periodicals; Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers; The Making of Modern Law; and many more. (cross-searchable platform added March 2014)
     
  • The John Johnson Collection : An Archive of Printed Ephemera (ProQuest)
    "This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising." (Acquired December 2015)
     
  • Literary Manuscripts : Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of the New York Public Library (Adam Matthew)
    "Literary Manuscripts is drawn from the nineteenth century holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature at the New York Public Library." It consists of fifteen author collections: Matthew Arnold, Emily Brontë, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray. "Where possible, each author collection has been captured as a whole." (Acquired June 2015)
     
  • The new Oxford Shakespeare : a new consideration of Shakespeare's works   (Oxford University Press)
    "The New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship. The three interconnected print publications and the online edition have been created by an international, intergenerational team of scholars under the leadership of Gary Taylor, John Jowett, Terri Bourus, and Gabriel Egan. The project's scope, depth, and vision provide the perfect platform for the future of Shakespeare studies."--Publisher information. (Acquired December 2016)

  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online   (Gale, Cengage Learning)
    "A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. . . . The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages" (from publisher's description). Now complete in twelve collections. Collections include: Asia and the WestBritish Politics and SocietyBritish Theatre, Music, and LiteratureEurope and AfricaChildren's Literature and Childhood; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 (Parts I & II); Women: Transnational Networks and many more. (Acquired 2012 through 2014)
     
  • Romanticism : Life, Literature & Landscape (Adam Matthew)
    "Offers unique access to rare and priceless literary sources that are indispensible for scholars and students studying William Wordsworth and the Romantic period. The collection offers an insight into the working methods of the poet and the wider social, political and natural environment that shaped much of his work and that of his contemporaries. In addition, this collection makes available the writings of Dorothy Wordsworth through her much celebrated Grasmere Journals, Alfoxden diary and travel journals. Verse manuscripts and correspondence from leading literary lights of the Romantic period such as Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey are also made available in this powerful digital resource." (Acquired August 2014)
     
  • Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History (Adam Matthew)
    "This resource brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Students and researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war.A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs." (Acquired June 2015)