This page is designed to link you to resources that will enable you to identify and access current and recently published articles from journals, magazines, and/or newspapers. The emphasis is on resources that will connect you with articles likely to be of interest to researchers in the areas of English or American Literature. The extent to which the databases on this page range backwards to cover older articles is highly variable. If you know that you are looking for articles from the mid twentieth century or from earlier centuries, you should work with the Older Articles page in this guide. Resources that do not include current or recent articles (such as Readers Guide Retrospective) will be found on the Older Articles page only.
Humanities Full Text
"Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals . . . dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more."
►May also be searched simultaneously with many other databases in EBSCOhost research databases.
JSTOR
"JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations." Journals in JSTOR are covered back to their first issues. Recency of coverage varies by title. Some titles are covered up through latest issue; others only up through five years ago, etc.
Literature criticism online
Provides essays or articles, or excerpts thereof, about an extensive range of literary works written as far back as 1400 and recently as the 21st century. Major literary works will typically be the focus of numerous entries in Literature criticism online. Each entry provides a mini-anthology of critical responses across a range of years. The earliest critical responses will typically be from as close as possible to the time of the work’s original publication or performance; the latest can be as late as the 21st century.
MLA directory of periodicals (EBSCO)
"The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory."
Project Muse
"Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content."
Readers Guide Full Text
Coverage: items published 1983 to the present Brief summaries of articles from popular and general-interest periodicals. Coverage includes literary works published in those periodicals (short stories, poetry, etc.).
►May also be searched simultaneously with many other databases in EBSCOhost research databases.