English and American Literature: Books, Dissertations, etc.

Books, Journals, Databases, Audio and Video Recordings, etc.

Start with CLIO to find books, journals, e-books, databases, and items in all formats in Columbia University Library collections. Titles held by the Law Library (and not already held by other Columbia Libraries) are now included in CLIO. (Use the Educat  catalog to find books and journals in the Teachers College Library collection.)

If you are looking for a book that is not listed in CLIO, or if all copies of that book listed in CLIO are checked out, request the book though Borrow Direct. Books requested through Borrow Direct usually arrive within four working days. 

WorldCat contains over 179 million records for items held by the vast number of libraries belonging to the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). It includes records for books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, etc. Searching WorldCat is an excellent way of moving beyond the range of what Columbia has collected to the larger universe of what is actually out there. You can borrow many types of items listed in WorldCat through Interlibrary Loan, For a helpful table identifying those types of items, click here. You can click on the e-Link icon

in the WorldCat record for an item to connect to an Interlibrary Loan request form that will already be filled out with basic data for that item.

 

Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
"The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. . . . The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works."

EThOS : e-theses online service (British Library)
"EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. . . . EThOS aims to provide:
    • A national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions
    • Free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by all researchers to further their own research."
EThOS includes records for theses from all UK PhD-awarding institutions, but  does not yet hold all records for all institutions.

►If the full text of the dissertation you want is not accessible for free at either of the above sites, look for the dissertation in WorldCat. Using the information in the WorldCat record, submit a request for the item through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).