American History and American Studies: New Databases 2016-2017

New Databases 2016-2017

The databases linked below were either: a.) acquired since January 2016; or, b.) expanded since January 2016 by the addition of substantial new modules.

America's historical newspapers  Icon  (Readex)
For searching and browsing American newspapers published from 1690 through the late 20th century, America's Historical Newspapers is the most comprehensive online resource available. Through Columbia Libraries, we have access to the following: Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, Series 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 13; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Series 1; Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. (Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922, Series 8 and 9 were added in July 2017.)
►May be cross-searched with other databases covering similar time periods in Readex AllSearch.

Archives of human sexuality and identity. LGBTQ history and culture since 1940  Icon  (Gale CENGAGE Learning)
"With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others." (Acquired March 2016)

Colonial America [Modules 1 through 3] Icon (Adam Matthew)
"Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the [Colonial Office] CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period." (Modules 1 through 3, were acquired Dec 2015 to Aug 2017. Database to be completed with modules 4 and 5 by 2019)

Frontier life : borderlands, settlement & colonial encounters  Icon   (Adam Matthew Digital)
"This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these areas."  (Acquired October 2016)

The HistoryMakers  Icon  (HistoryMakers)
Provides streaming access to more than 2,340 "video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements." Interview transcripts are fully searchable. Includes "interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject . . . the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history. Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and continue to the present. The archive continues to grow so that queries saved today may have new results tomorrow based on new interviews added into the archive. Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well." [From publisher's site.] (Acquired July 2017)

LGBT studies in video  Icon (Alexander Street Press)
"LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics."
(Acquired June 2016)

LGBT thought and culture    Icon    Alexander Street Press
"LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers." (Acquired March 2016)

Migration to new worlds  Icon  (Adam Matthew Digital)
"Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia." Includes "collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration." (Database now complete with the addition of Module 2 in Aug 2017)

NAACP papers   Icon  ProQuest
The Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) are "the most widely used collection in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress." Now "nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings and direct action summaries" can be easily searched and accessed in the NAACP Papers database. "With a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, users can examine the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965, and beyond." [From publisher's site.] (Acquired September 2016)

Race Relations in America  Icon  (Adam Matthew Digital)
"Sourced from the records of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, housed at the Amistad Research Center in New Orleans, this resource provides access to a wealth of documents highlighting different responses to the challenges of overcoming prejudice, segregation and racial tensions. These range from survey material, including interviews and statistics, to educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, and photographs and speeches from the Annual Race Relations Institutes." Includes documents ranging in date from 1928 to 1976, with the bulk dating from 1943 to 1970. [From publisher's site.] (Acquired May 2017)

Socialism on Film : the Cold War and International Propaganda  Icon  (Adam Matthew Digital)
"Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitised film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba." Database presently consists of Module I Wars & Revolutions (Acquired May 2017). Forthcoming: Module II Newsreels & Cinemagazines (2018) and  Module III Culture & Society (2019)

Trade Catalogues and the American Home   Icon  (Adam Matthew Digital)
Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home. This resource presents a wealth of highly illustrated primary source documents that highlight commercial tastes and consumer trends, and provide a valuable visual record for a breadth of interdisciplinary study. (Acquired May 2017)

World newsreels online, 1929-1966   Icon  (Alexander Street Press)
Searchable database of streaming videos that features full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the first half of the twentieth century. The collection allows users to search by subject, year, historical era, historical event, people, and places. (Acquired March 2017)