Studio-X Global Network: Rio de Janeiro
Avery Librarians
Library
Since March 2011, Studio-X Rio occupies a three-story building at Praça Tiradentes, a square in Rio de Janeiro’s downtown area. We are particularly interested in how cross-cultural, cross-disciplinary, and cross-continental exchanges can affect and inform each other when facing the ongoing urban transformations of the city, the country and Latin America.
Our research guide is a point of departure for the exploration of Rio through multiple media, narratives and contemporary debates. Share your comments and suggestions for the guide with us at studiox@columbia.edu
Porous city : a cultural history of Rio de Janeiro (from the 1810s onward) / Bruno Carvalho. Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 2013.
Rio de Janeiro: uma cidade no tempo = a city through time. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro, Secretaria Municipal de Cultura, Turismo e Esportes, Departamento Geral de Patrimônio Cultural, 1992.
Built environment:
Cidades@
Cities is a tool from the Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estadistica which gathers information about all the municipalities in Brazil. Here you can find tables, graphs, maps and histories that form a complete profile of each Brazilian city.
Favela-Bairro: rewriting the history of Rio / Luiz Paulo Conde, Sérgio Magalhães. Rio de Janeiro: ViverCidades, 2004.
Guia da arquitetura moderna no Rio de Janeiro / Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio de Janeiro, Secretaria Municipal de Urbanismo, Centro de Arquitetura e Urbanismo do Rio de Janeiro. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: O Centro: Casa da Palavra, 2001.
Find books, etc.
Search Columbia University Libraries' Catalog for books, journal and newspaper titles, audio and video recordings, archival collections, databases, maps and atlases.
From the results page, refine your search by any combination of format, publication date, author, library location, language, or subject. To view these options before searching, enter a blank search.
To find individual articles, see the Find articles section below.
-
Avery Index to architectural periodicals . EBSCOhost versionCitations to articles in architecture and related periodicals with primary emphasis on architectural design and history but coverage as well of archaeology, landscape architecture, interior design, furniture and decorative arts, garden history, historic preservation, city planning, urban design, real estate development and environmental studies.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Citations to articles and book reviews in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean and Hispanic Americans. Links to full-text are available for selected journals.
ProQuest .Citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. -
Urban studies abstracts .Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, urban planning, city planning, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Request Items:
Scan & Deliver: Electronic Document Delivery enables those with Columbia University library borrowing privileges to request electronic delivery of articles and book chapters from the general print collections of participating libraries at Columbia University.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) enables eligible Columbia University affiliates to borrow material from other libraries and universities and obtain copies of articles or book chapters from titles that are not owned or available at Columbia University Libraries.
Local resources:
Studio X Rio Directors Pedro Rivera and Raul Correa-Smith's guide:
Local News and Blogs (English):
Rio Times http://riotimesonline.com/#
Rio On Watch http://rioonwatch.org/
RioReal http://riorealblog.com/
Brazzil http://www.brazzil.com/
eatrio http://eatrio.net/
Rio Gringa http://www.riogringa.com/
Christopher Gaffney http://www.geostadia.com/
Jennifer Barchfield http://bigstory.ap.org/content/jenny-barchfield
News from International Press:
The Independent http://www.independent.co.uk/topic/RioDeJaneiro?pageNumber=8
The Telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/southamerica/brazil/
The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/world/brazil
BBC Correspondent http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/correspondents/wyredavies/
Reports:
Urban Age Rio http://files.lsecities.net/files/2013/10/city-transformations-newspaper_en.pdf
Porto Maravilha http://portomaravilha.com.br/web/esq/mnuBrieFing.aspx
Olympic City (official website from the City of Rio) http://www.cidadeolimpica.com.br/en/
Tourism:
Rio Guide http://www.rioguiaoficial.com.br/en/home
Rio Lapa News http://www.riolaparj.com.br/
Documentaries:
BBC Series Brasil
- Episode 1: Samba to Bossa http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9WOgH4gs0R8
- Episode 2 : Tropicalia Revolution http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I4ErAXqoS20
- Episode 3: A Tale of Four Cities http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGf94kdPstg&list=PLrRtCf0PDRsDRE4-DesD3rAopvJegrAGR
Brazil An Inconvenient History BBC http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IZpAUEgKYc&list=PLrRtCf0PDRsDRE4-DesD3rAopvJegrAGR
L.A.P.A. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZkI-5AmhrU
Aerial Rio 1932 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7Q1kITY168
Aerial Carnival 1955 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xmmel1WrXXE
Aerial Rio 1967 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlREaHNwnyg
Aerial 2012 https://vimeo.com/48378823
New Year´s Copacabana 2011 https://vimeo.com/18742243
JR Women Morro da Providência https://vimeo.com/5842415
Mobility+ Series at Studio-X Rio:
Youth https://vimeo.com/52497710
Gentility https://vimeo.com/52993665
Delivery https://vimeo.com/52491031
Lifestyle https://vimeo.com/52610657
Public Space https://vimeo.com/52998380
Culture https://vimeo.com/52995163
Citizenship https://vimeo.com/52495199
Informality https://vimeo.com/52619537
Media https://vimeo.com/52615572
Time https://vimeo.com/52613719
Water https://vimeo.com/52493753
Films:
Tropa de Elite I (Elite Squad I)
Tropa de Elite II (Elite Squad II)
Cidade de Deus (City of God) - Fernando Meirelles
Central do Brasil (Central Station) - Walter Salles
Ônibus 174 (Bus 174)
Orfeu Negro (Black Orpheus)
Macunaíma, de Joaquim Pedro de Andrade
Rio – Carlos Saldanha