Latin American and Iberian Cultures: Background Information
A selective guide to research resources available at Columbia that are useful in beginning research.
Oxford Bibliographies
These selective, curated bibliographies coupled with expert commentary will help you find, negotiate, and assess the most appropriate and authoritative sources for your research.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
This link opens in a new window
Cultural and literary essays include, among others:
- Andres Bello
- Argentinian Literature
- Asian-Peruvian Literature
- Cultural History
- Printing and the Book
- The Chronicle
- The Colombian Novel
- The Novel of the Mexican Revolution
Reference Sources
- Cambridge histories online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Camgbridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Volumes include:
- Cambridge History of Latin America (10 volumes)
- Cambridge Economic History of Latin America (2 volumes)
- Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge History of Latin American Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- Cambridge History of Spanish Literature
- This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature by ISBN: 9781316869468Publication Date: 2018-02-16
The Cambridge History of Religions in Latin America by ISBN: 9780521767330Publication Date: 2016-04-11
- Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Cultures of Latin AmericaCall Number: PQ7081.A1 L525 2004 - Multiple Locations/HoldingsISBN: 0195126211Publication Date: 2004
Diccionario biográfico español by Call Number: DP58 .D533 2009g - Butler Reference Bookcase M-O, 301 ButlerPublication Date: 2009-2013Complete in 50 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and CultureCall Number: R980 En192 - Butler ReferenceISBN: 9780684312705Publication Date: 2008
Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American CultureCall Number: F1408.3 .C283 2004 - Latin American Studies Read Rm, 503 ButlerISBN: 0521631513Publication Date: 2004
Cambridge Companion to the Latin American NovelCall Number: Multiple LocationsISBN: 0521825334Publication Date: 2005
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural StudiesCall Number: F1408.3 .D5513 2012 - Butler Reference Bookcase M-O, 301 ButlerISBN: 9780813037585Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular MusicCall Number: ML101.L38 E53 2013 - Music ReferenceISBN: 9780313340314Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean CulturesCall Number: F1406 .E515 2000 - LAS Reading Room & Butler ReferenceISBN: 041513188XPublication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish CultureCall Number: R946.08 En19 - Butler Reference, 301 ButlerISBN: 0415131871Publication Date: 1999
- The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
As indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually.
- Twayne's authors online . This link opens in a new windowTwayne's authors online offers "in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres." This database contains the contents of the three print series United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors.
SCRIBNER WRITERS ONLINE SERIES
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
- Latin American Writers
- This link opens in a new window
- Latin American Writers. Supplement I
- This link opens in a new window
- Latino and Latina Writers
- This link opens in a new window
- Dictionary of literary biography complete online . This link opens in a new windowA specialist encyclopedia dedicated to literature. Each biographical entry includes basic information on the author and works, a bibliography, and a list of further readings of essential secondary sources.
Explore these Full-text digital editions:
Brazil
- Brazilian Writers
Caribbean
- Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers (First Series)
- Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers (Second Series)
- Twentieth-Century Caribbean and Black African Writers (Third Series)
Spain
- Castilian Writers, 1200-1400
- Castilian Writers, 1400-1500
- Sixteenth-Century Spanish Writers
- Twentieth-Century Spanish Poets (First Series)
- Twentieth-Century Spanish Poets (Second Series)
- Twentieth-Century Spanish Fiction Writers
Latin America
- Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers
- Latin American Dramatists (First Series)
- Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers (First Series)
- Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers (Second Series)
- Modern Spanish American Poets (First Series)
- Modern Spanish American Poets (Second Series)
Portugal
- Portuguese Writers African Lusophone Writers
US Latino
- Chicano Writers ((First Series)
- Chicano Writers (Second Series)
- Chicano Writers (Third Series)