African Blue Books, 1821-1953 (British Foreign & Commonwealth Office) (East Ardsley, Wakefield : Microform Academic Publishers, 2013).
Part of: "British Online Archives" series. Covering the period between the mid- nineteenth and the mid-twentieth centuries, these digitized records from the British Colonial and Foreign Offices focus primarily upon economic development; imports, exports, and each territory's balance sheets. Ecclesiastical records, public works and population statistics are also common themes: Basutoland (Lesotho), 1926-1946 ; Gambia, 1828-1945 ; Gold Coast, 1846-1939 ; Kenya, 1901-1946 ; Nigeria, 1862-1945 ; Northern Rhodesia, 1924-1948 ; Nyasaland, 1904-1938 ; Sierra Leone, 1824-1943 ; Tanganyika, 1921-1948 ; Uganda, 1901-1945 ; Zanzibar, 1913-1947.
Afrobarometer--Data and Publications (Institute for Democracy in South Africa, Cape Town; Ghana Centre for Democratic Development, Accra; and Michigan State University, Dept. of Political Science, East Lansing, Michigan)
'A comparative series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and civil society in Africa.' The website includes: sample surveys and selected abstracts from final reports. The 1st round survey covered: Ghana, Uganda, Zambia, Nigeria, Botswana, Lesotho, and Zimbabwe.
ALUKA: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Ithaka Harbors, Princeton, New Jersey)
Full text digital archives on the independence and anti-apartheid movements in southern Africa. "The Struggles for Freedom content area, launched in June 2007, focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an initial concentration on six nations: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Namibia, and Zimbabwe."
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980: Documents from the National Archives, UK Archives Direct (Adam Matthew, Wiltshire, UK)
Archives of The Church of Uganda Online (Leiden, The Netherlands ; Boston, MA : Brill, 2013-)
British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980; divided into three sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975, and 1976-1980.
--See especially: Nature and scope of the collection
The records of the Church of the Province of Uganda, including some of the first written documents about and originating from Uganda. Contents of the collection include legal and administrative documents, correspondence, publications, personal records and more from the Offices of the Archbishops and Bishops of Uganda, the Education Secretary General, the General, Financial, and Provincial Secretaries, the Provincial Treasurer, and the Mother's Union.
Bibliothèque Nationale de France: Gallica Voyages en Afrique (Paris)
Voyages en Afrique offers a wide selection of documents covering the entire African continent...focused on the history of the Arabian and European exploration of the African coast and interior, and the process of the European colonization of Africa through 1914.
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 Part of Archives Direct. -- London, UK: Adam Matthew, 2012.
Selected British colonial records from the National Archives in Kew. "The Confidential Print series, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices...Spanning the full era of the modern European colonisation of Africa...to the era of withdrawal that followed the Second World War."
***NOTE: This collection contains documents pertaining mostly to the history of colonial development policies in Southern Africa, with some coverage on West Africa.
Connecting-Africa (African Studies Centre, Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands)
" [A] service that provides access to African research information produced in the Netherlands, Belgium, and elsewhere...(full-text of publications, images and sound) in about 55 institutional repositories."
Constitutions on the Internet
Dictionary of literary biography. (Online). -- Detroit, Michigan: Gale Group, 2003.
Droit-Afrique.Com: le droit des entreprises en Afrique francophone. (Paris, France)
"Droit-Afrique.com is a publicly available site covering business law and taxation in 24 French-speaking African countries. It provides: the texts of codes, laws, decrees, orders, agreements, and doctrine; a list of web portals containing African legal information; and a directory of business lawyers..."
East African Development Library -- Paris, France: UNESCO Direction de l'Information et de l'Informatique, 1999. --via New Zealand Digital Library, University of Waikato, New Zeland.
A small archive of digitized documents furnished by the World Bank, FAO, UNDP, and other UN agencies on East African development.
ELDIS: Electronic Development and Environment Information System (Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex, Brighton, UK)
Search by country, topic, key issues: Documents are produced by research institutes or international organizations. Note: Some documents listed in the search are only accessible at the IDS library, University of Sussex.
Érudit : promoting and disseminating research = promouvoir et diffuser la recherche (Montréal, Québec, Canada)
Select "Advanced Search" or "Recherche détailée to look for open access, online full-text MA essays/mémoires de maîtrise from McGill University, Université Laval, & Université de Montréal...or journal articles published in major Canadian and French journals.
German Colonial History -- Digital Archives for African Studies
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers -- Selections (Cambridge, UK: Chadwyck-Healey, 2005)
See Subject catalogue, look for Africa under "The Dominions and Colonies" ; "Slavery and the Slave Trade" ; and, "Foreign Affairs and Diplomacy".
Le Hub Rural: Appui au développement rural en Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre = The Rural Hub: Supporting Rural Development in Western and Central Africa (Dakar, Sénégal)
In French and English. Rresearch and development project activities, with an extensive, searchable archive of downloadable reports from US government, intergovernmental, and international NGOs; plus a library of links to web sites of development organizations.
IRD--Institut de Recherche Pour le Développement "Ressources documentaires -- Horizon/Pleins textes" (Paris, France)
"Research scientists of the IRD focus on the relationship between humans and their environment in tropical and Mediterranean..."
See also HORISEN--Base bibliographique de l'IRD pour le Sénégal
ISRA--Institut sénégalais de recherches agricoles : Bibliothèque numérique de publications (1974-1999) Greenstone Digital Library Software (Dakar, Sénégal)
ISRA was established in 1974 to design, organize and complete all research on the rural sector in Senegal.
Memórias de África et do Oriente, Biblioteca Digital (Universidade de Aveiro, Centro de Estudos sobre África e do Desenvolvimento--Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, e Fundação Portugal-África, Lisboa, Portugal)
In Portuguese and English. An online library of historical data available in archives, documentation centers, libraries and institutions, private organizations and individuals involved...in African countries with Portuguese as the national language (PALOP)...[and] digitalization of rare works or those works that are difficult to access..."
Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe and Africa (Gale Cengage Learning, Farmington Hills, Michigan)
"Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest": selections from The National Archives at Kew, UK, mostly on British and settler colonialism in South Africa and parts of West Africa; American views on colonialism in eastern and southern Africa; and some coverage of French, German, and Portuguese colonialism in west, central, and southern Africa.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD iLibrary (Washington, DC, USA ; Paris, France : OECD)
OHADA.com: Le Portail du Droit des Affaires en Afrique (Centre d'affaire La Défense, Paris, France)
--Also includes periodicals such as: Bulletin du Comité de l'Afrique française (1891-1914); Annuaire du Sénégal et dépendances (1854-1902);
The East African Standard, Mombasa Times, & Uganda Argus (1905-1913); Deutsche Kolonializeitung (1884-1922)
An archive of publications in French on African law. Must register to access the full text and other site services.
Online Publications on Africa from Research Centers & Universities (Compiled by Columbia University Libraries)
RAI--Royal Anthropological Institute Archive. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2018-)
A unique collection of digitized primary sources over the last 150 years from the RAI, including association files, manuscripts, field notes, conference proceedings, maps, and photographs of art, artifacts, people and places.
Sahel point DOC: anthologie du développement au Sahel -- Paris, France: UNESCO, Division de l'Information et de l'Informatique, 1999. --via New Zealand Digital Library, University of Waikato, New Zealand.
A small archive of documents provided by the World Bank, Centre Songhai, OECD–Club du Sahel, CILSS, FAO, UNDP, and several other organizations in the Sahel.
SEALS Digital Commons (Southeast Academic Libraries System, South Africa)
A consortium of academic libraries in South Africa, including: Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University ; Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University: Archives and Exhibition Centre ; Rhodes University Archives ; Rhodes University Digital Commons ; Rhodes University: Cory Library ; Rhodes University: International Library of African Music (ILAM) ; Rhodes University: Margaret Smith Library ; University of Fort Hare Institutional Repository ; University of Fort Hare: National Heritage and Cultural Studies Centre ; and, Walter Sisulu University.
Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive (Farmington Hills, Michigan: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009-)
"...includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm."
Slave Trade Archives -- Digital Projects
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign: "Africana: A Collection of Digitized Books" -- Selected British Colonial Annual Reports from The National Archives, UK, 1800-1939
University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa: Historical Papers Research Archive
- Emory University: Slave Voyages--The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Atlanta, Georgia)
The site provides free access to selected data on thousands of slave ship voyages; plus scholarly essays, illustrations, animated features, and maps. The latest version (2019) includes the "Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database" ; "Intra-American Slave Trade Database" ; "African Names Database" ; and, "Image Galleries".
- Harvard University: Liberated Africans Hutchins Center for African and African American Research (Cambridge, Massachusetts)
A digital resource built around selected "proceedings for about 1,000 trials, registers containing biographical sketches for people removed from slave ships (including physical descriptions), labor contracts, anti-slavery legislation, correspondence on resettlement policies, images of captured slave ships, and even photographs of some liberated Africans."
- University of Wisconsin: On-Line Data Archive--Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries (Madison, Wisconsin)
An archive of raw data and documentation on selected aspects of the history of the transatlantic slave trade that is downloadable, with free registration.
See especially: What DISC and the Slave Movement Site Can and Cannot Do for You
- Vanderbilt University: Slave Societies Digital Archive (Nashville, Tennessee)
"...dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World [especially: Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Spanish Florida, Ouidah (Benin), and Luanda (Angola) ] . The SSDA’s largest and oldest collections were generated by the Catholic Church, which mandated the baptism of African slaves in the fifteenth century and later extended this requirement to the Iberian New World. The baptismal records preserved in Slave Societies are the oldest and most uniform serial data available for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World and offer the most extensive information regarding their ethnic origins...other religious documentation such as confirmations, petitions to wed, wills, and even annulments."
[The archive at Wits itself contains] ...over 3000 separate collections of historical, political and cultural importance." The web site includes a large number of photos of selected full texts from the archive--downloadable and searchable, as well as inventory guides about its collections, including: Papers of Robert Mangaliso Sobukwe (1924-1977) and the Pan Africanist Congress ; The African National Congress; and the Records of the Anglican Church of Southern Africa.